‘Tis the Season’

by Lisa

Yesterday,  I brought in some Christmas ornaments for the students to paint. one student in particular saw what was on the agenda, and said, “What if I hate Christmas?”. At this point, I had a flashback to last December. I did a solo show of oil paintings –33 of those suckers, with a reception planned for the 17th of December. What was I thinking? (Well, it was suppose to happen during the summer, but I got screwed out of the gallery space.) Between getting 33 paintings up, and putting on a reception in which Martha Stewart and Queen Elizabeth were invited, I was an absolute mess throughout the holiday season. I concluded many times that I too — hated Christmas.

xmas_baubles.jpg

At any rate, this is the painting that I made into a Christmas card, into which I inserted invitations for the reception. I had 500 of them made and only used about 100. You do the math. I  have a fire sale going on now of 25 cards for $10. So what if they have 2006 next to my signature. They read ‘Tis the Season…’ on the inside. Ah c’mon…

I know. Maybe I’ll take them with me next time I go plein air painting and sell those suckers on the spot. Now that I’m building a following in the ‘field’.

This entry was posted in Rants, Still Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ‘Tis the Season’

  1. kevmoore says:

    I reckon you can make these cards really go the distance. With a little creative additional painting (you could force your students to do it) those Christmas baubles could easily double for Easter eggs, and there you go! Another business opportunity.
    It’s okay, I’ll waive my 15% consultancy fee.

  2. Susie Ciufo says:

    Love the painting, as usual…. you have outdone yourself! Happy Holidays,
    Susie

  3. 100swallows says:

    It makes a wonderful thumbnail, Lisa, and I bet it made a nice Christmas card too. My computer won’t blow it up for me to see it big, however; says there’s an error.

  4. 100swallows says:

    I just saw a very dark version of it is your new header. Turn on the light, please.

  5. lbtowers says:

    You’re a real slave driver 100swallows. And yes, we are having technical problems. Bare with us. The Christmas gremlins are already at work wreaking havoc on all that is related to Christmas.

    Good to hear from you Susie!!! I want to see your plein air work!

  6. 100swallows says:

    Sorry, Lisa. But if you don’t mind I will keep my clothes on and just watch you guys deal with the gremlins nude.

  7. Michael says:

    Join twitter.com and make your profile public and see what happens. Or if you can join grandcentralstation.com and send out one message to all people on your contact list. But keep in mind that people will see the perceived value in what you are offering and people like uniqueness. And don’t forget to say they are personally autographed by the artist with a link and email, which you can easily set up for this special project using a gmail eMail account to keep track of it all. This is permission marketing and you can download the free book the “idea” virus from one of the top 100 bloggers in the world Seth Godin @ http://www.sethgodin.com/ideavirus/01-getit.html where you can get it for free.

Leave a Reply

