Every Artist Needs a Studio Dog

by Lisa

       My drawing is progressing though it can be likened to watching paint dry since every leaf in that tree outside the window has to be figured out. Here you see my dog Peach, who accompanies me sometimes for inspiration and to hurry me along. She will start pulling a “Toby” for instance (I am referring to a carpet cleaning commercial where the dog does something vulgar and the mother screams at him.)  That gets me drawing faster in favor of returning her home to the natural setting of our backyard where dogs with itchy butts belong. Of course, I can leave Peach outside all day, and the minute I bring her in, she will head straight for my favorite rug. Mais, j’aime ma chienne. (But, I love my dog). My french is coming along too.  

       In the above picture, you see all of the studies I had to do to figure out the “tree”. PAINT DRY I tell you. What you don’t even see are the studies for these studies. And I haven’t even started to figure out the other window yet. This drawing will be worth $100,000 by the time I am done.

This entry was posted in Drawing, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Every Artist Needs a Studio Dog

  1. wrjones says:

    Not that you listen for shit but that back window looks very strong as almost pure light coming through.

    Drawing looking good – dog ugly as hell but then compared to Mango they all do.

    Say, are you interested in picking up some second hand USC shirts cheap? Wouldn’t be caught dead in them myself.

  2. Melinda says:

    Oh, you are very patient, Lisa. I’m impressed. It’s really coming along and I look forward to seeing it finished. Thank you for sharing a view of your studio and your studio dog. He has a rather wry look on his face…as though he’s channeling Bill’s online photo expression. Hmmm. Bill doesn’t pull a “Toby” when he visits your studio, does he?!

    There was a t-shirt years ago that may be of interest to you. It said, “J’embrasse mon chien sur la bouche.”
    Mr. Arty Fice calls these kinds studies “penances.” For what, I’m not sure, but lets hope they buy us some indulgences, yes?

  3. Lori says:

    Peach looks like she is wondering why you think what she is doing is vulgar when she is anointing your carpet with her own special essence.

  4. Barbara says:

    The drawing looks spectacular so far.

    Barbara

  5. lbtowers says:

    Bill, at least my dogs head is not bigger than her body.

    Melinda, I love my dog but Je n’embrasse pas ma chienne sur la bouche. No.

    and yes, Lori she seems immensely proud of her own essence as she goes straight to those spots on the carpet where she has shared them with me, and sniffs them over really well.

  6. It’s fun to see this in process with all your studies around it! Your dog looks like good company!

  7. wrjones says:

    TO: LB Towers
    CC: PETA
    Subject: Hurtful, cruel words

    Lisa,

    How can you be so heartless? Mango has doggie Down Syndrome. It showed up in amniocentesis but his family chose to love him anyway.

    Since he read your comment he has been too depressed to watch Dog Whisperer.

    I hope you are happy now!

    See you in court,

    Mango’s Attorney.

  8. Looks like you are making some nice progress, Lisa. Check out Tony Peter’s latest post. He is at the top of my blog roll.

  9. Could you pass on to WRJ that Mango is nothing but a LBHP!! That man is HF (hella funny). As for you, get back to work!

  10. Beautiful BIG drawing, Lisa!

    Now when is Peach going to learn to help with chores? Maybe you could have your dog step in charcoal dust and then add footprints to simulate leaf shapes. It could be the latest art craze; hidden dog prints.

  11. I always know I can count on a smile when I read your blog(s). You are one patient woman, Lisa, to work on that so long and hard. It is really coming along beautifully though.
    BTW…. My dog, Rocky, (a yellow-eyed pit bull with a lovely smile) is beautifully ugly… Have you two ever painted your studio dogs?? … hmmmm… Since mine just lays there for hours at a time, it might be a good idea for me to try…. but then who but me would want a painting of an ugly, but loveable pit bull? … and I’ve got the original already…
    Oh well.

  12. This is just like the one I saw in a dream once. I am truly amazed at what you do and how well you do it. I sense a calm detachment that is rare with someone of your gifts.
    Kindest,
    Michael a fellow Cafe Crem – er!!

  13. Lisa – I just got a dog today, he’s going to make a wonderful studio dog. I’ll post a photo on my blog this weekend. When I decided to take him the first thing I thought of was this posting…

  14. Pingback: In My Wildest Dreams « On Painting

Leave a comment