Finished

By WR Jones

Laundry Day
Laundry Day 10″ x 12″
Oil on linen

Hey – I fought my way thru procrastination to actually finish a piece. The completion part of this painting stuff is so rare. I think that subconsciously I feel that once a painting is complete I will be taken out and shot.

I get distracted by a puff of wind. Once I mix a color I have to go the the frig for a drink before applying paint. Then the drinking means I have to pee after the first 6 brush strokes. I sit to pee so I can continue reading a book I have on the iPhone. Finished the book and showed at least some discipline by telling myself I would not get off the toilet until I found and downloaded a new book from Amazon.

When I left the bathroom I was surprised to see there was still daylight. What the hell, might as well continue painting. Here you have it; the first completed painting in nearly a generation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finished

  1. This is a lovely painting and definitely worth the effort with all the distractions to finally complete it. What is with all the distractions anyway? I do the same thing….cannot sit for a whole hour painting w/o having to get up and do something completely different.

  2. ivdanu says:

    Yes, but it’s a nice impressionistic painting! no matter the (funny) process to finish it, it’S the result that counts! nice to see your blog (and paintings) again, Bill!

Leave a Reply

