The One Hour Loose Plein Air Study

by wr jones

The Decons Car

Ya right.   I’m quite certain the painter (David Jonas – now living in central California I think) I copied this from did do it in an hour or less on location.  I take 6 hours just to do a poor copy.   I’m running out of his paintings to copy.  I should email him to provide me more material.   So, I don’t know about you, but I use the word “loose” as a euphemism for can’t get it right.   Loose sounds more painterly and better than can’t paint for shit.

I should probably go into one of these places more often.  I’d kinda like to find one that gives change in the collection plate.   I put in a $20 and remove  5x$5.00 that way every one is a winner,  I think; I was never all that strong with the math.

Did you ever try fast draw with a real revolver?   I did.   Strapped it to my hip.  Took a few steps forward and like lightning drew.   I threw the revolver maybe twenty feet.   So, in fact, I may still hold the world record for furthest tossed revolver in a gunfight.

I did this in front of witnesses, naturally.  Wouldn’t have been nearly as embarrassing were I alone.  I couldn’t help but reflect had I been in a real gunfight, I would have been, as the cowboys say, screwed.   The vision became so real to me I found myself trying to talk my way out, “Now, hold on there – I’ve lost my weapon.  You wouldn’t shoot an unarmed man?”  “What?  Well, yes techically I did throw it away myself.  However, in the interest of sportsmanship I think you should allow me to fetch it.”   “Or, we could, end the whole deal, try a little team building exercise, where I give you my girlfriend, car keys,  house, wallet, but I keep this $2.00 for some lemonade to clear the trail dust out of my mouth.”

This entry was posted in Humor, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The One Hour Loose Plein Air Study

  1. Barbara Pask says:

    What happened to your cowboy training Bill? I bet you could have talked the other guy in letting you retrieve your gun before he killed you. lol. Sweet painting.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    Hi Bill. Never tried to do the quick draw thing, but do remember trying to twirl a lasso like Gene Autrey. I couldn’t do that any better than you say you drew the revolver. Maybe that’s why we paint. Like the white church with a red door.

  3. Carol King says:

    You probably couldn’t do the quick draw right cause you weren’t wearing your cowboy outfit of backless chaps and high heels. (For any one else reading this, please see Bill’s previous post about his cowboy outfits.)
    Blah, blah, blah. I’m not listening to anymore of your “can’t paint for shit” routine. This painting looks pretty good to me.

  4. Hehe… “Loose sounds more painterly and better than can’t paint for shit.” Too true =)

  5. wrjones says:

    Barbara – I would be pleading with an undeniable whimper. Please mister, pretty please. I’m so so sorry I called your mama fat. Can I just see my gun one more time to say good bye.

    Leslie – That red door opens directly to a very large offering plate that I take care to empty every day so as I will have money to buy more cad red.

    Carol – How did you know I have backless chaps? You been walking behind me? Do you like the heels?

    Stacey – I try to pick my words carefully. Not usually successful which is how I ended up in the gunfight. He only let me live after I told him I was a blogger.

  6. Dar says:

    Loose isn’t always good.
    Loose stools, loose tooth, loose lips and all that. You might like loose change and loose women…

    You did a great job handling white, creating light and varying depth of shadow or reflected light.

  7. wrjones says:

    Dar – good observation. Personally I prefer loose women to loose stools, but that is just me, not for everyone I suppose.

  8. kevmoore says:

    Well, in the interests of your self-preservation, perhaps you could incorporate aiming into your reflex-jettisoning of the revolver. That way, you would reclaim the element of surprise, and be able to whack your opponent upside the head (as I believe you Americans say) with your airborne piece before he can even re-arrange his chaps and say ‘get outta dodge’.

  9. Wow…nice painterly copy.. the light is great.
    Shoulda used the Deacon’s car for a quick get away after that slight o hand with the collection plate,Bill.

    You beat yourself up too much…this is a good painting.
    P>S> to hand cancer:
    .. that GPS should be relabeled the B in B ( bitch in the box). I share your sentiments about her. Useless device. Maps are more visually appealing.
    And they don’t talk in a HAL like voice.

  10. Guess you’ll have to come sit in on my 6th grade math class one of these days… I’ll help you with your multiplication. ;)

  11. wrjones says:

    Kev – yes yes, throw the pistol at his head. I will practice that with some bottles on a fence. I hope he doesn’t rearrange his chaps; the current fad is for backless.

    Cathyann – Thanks. Actually Stella has quite a nice voice. I sometimes ask her if she would like to accompany me into the roadhouse to wet our whistles. She never answers so I grab her by the antenna and drag her in. She doesn’t dance worth a hoot but at least I don’t step on her toes. Maps are ok I suppose as long as you know which end is up.

    Shayna – word on the street (or is it your blog) the 6th grade class would be about the right age to ask you out. Be careful you will end up in jail writing to your thirteen year old boyfriend. OK, texting.

  12. heatherslalaland says:

    “So, I don’t know about you, but I use the word “loose” as a euphemism for can’t get it right. Loose sounds more painterly and better than can’t paint for shit.”

    Haha, too funny. I giggled quite a bit when I read this. I found your blog through Leslie White’s blog. Looks rather amusing. I’ll be tuning in for more!

  13. I took one look at this and thought, oh boy, Bill’s got religion! And look, Bill, your church is so solid! Must be founded upon a rock. And we know, don’t kid us, that you’re steady as a rock.

    Fastest draw in the west!

  14. gypsy-heart says:

    Nice piece, Bill. For some reason, I especially love the car!

    ~g-h

  15. Erin M says:

    I’ll use your “new math” when counting flutter kicks tonight in the pool. And it’s amazing how 30 second drills can turn into 2 minute ones…almost magical!

    ::tee hee hee::

  16. I have standards, Bill. He at least has to be old enough to sit at the bar with me. :P

  17. Erin M says:

    I see that I scared you away with my “new math” comment. Missed you tonight. Hope all is well.

  18. wrjones says:

    Aletha – I AM a rock. Cinderfella.

    Gypsy-heart – thanks. The car is my favorite part too.

    Shayna – Ok cougar woman. We believe you.

    Hi Erin – I’m in Northern CA. Will be back to swim with the beauties next week. You should have the class email me “Return Safely” notes. I expect they are totally worried.

    Heather – thanks for stopping by.

  19. Nice painting, Bill. The greys are beautiful and really make the red ‘pop’. Loved the quick draw story – that’s great!

  20. wrjones says:

    Connie – that story is a painful reminder of my inept past and a future that looks as bleak.

  21. Bill, we all know you really can do the quick-draw! We’ve seen your sketches!

  22. Bill, now it’s my turn — I need another picture! Did you lose your paint brushes? Pencil sharpener break? Quit goofin’ off and draw! Oh ye, fastest draw in the West!

  23. I like this loose piece, Bill. I think going into one of those buildings would be fine, as long as you don’t bring in a revolver with you.

    Quite the transition from plein air copies to guns!
    Is throwing the revolver the way your ancestors played roulette?

  24. wrjones says:

    Diana – I need to get some quick draw done so I can have something to post. Plus I need something to rant about; any ideas?

    Aletha – I’m a bit behind here. Could you write a post for me?

    Rebecca – I think I’m the only one in my family with the genetic defect of throwing away my weapon in a moment of need. Some societies refer to it as losing one’s nuts.

  25. carolking says:

    Hey, it’s been ages. Wake up! We’re all waiting for a new post.

  26. Bill, I would love a writing gig, but YOU are inimitable! AK

  27. gwen bell says:

    Really great job on the church. The light is perfection. And loose is way harder than tight. Don’t let anyone tell you it’s not. Well, at least GOOD loose is hard.

    I’m laughing through tears at your story. That’s so pathetic. Thank goodness you are creative or it could have been ugly.

  28. wrjones says:

    Gwen – thanks so much. There really is nothing to make one feel so manly as being called pathetic. Shit, now my lower lip is quivering. Luckily no one can see.

  29. Pingback: A Pot of Gold « Leslie White

  30. wrjones says:

    Leslie – what the devil are you talking about? You have to go slowly for me.

Leave a Reply

