Bugs – 99.9%

By W.R Jones

wires

     I always wondered why the “creator” made mosquitoes and flies.   Did He/She/It want to screw with us?   What would happen to the eco-system if all the mosquitoes and all the flies dissappeared at once?   The birds and bats might struggle for a meal.   Do we need bats if there are no mosquitoes?   I know they use bat shit for something but I forget what or how important it is to life.

    And microbes – everywhere and unseen.   TV ads depict them as evil I guess – since they seem to want to kill them all.   They show a child scraping a knee or running in the kitchen to eat with, …, Oh my God, dirty hands.   These children  will surely die without our product which kills 99.9% of bacteria.   Which bacteria?   We NEED a lot of them.  Which are you killing?

    I’m reading a book which has a few paragraphs about the man in Australia who brought in 20 rabbits around 1850 or something like that.  There were no predators so rabbits, being rabbits, went forth and mulitplied.   They ate the existing eco-system.   The environment was changed (for the worse) forever.   Finally someone imported a virus that was 99.9 percent fatal to rabbits.   Guess what the remaining 0.1 percent did?   They screwed in their natural earnest manner so that 20 years later they were back in full strength.

    There is a lesson here; what is it?  Oh ya, if you leave 0.1 percent of something that mutiplies rapidly you have pissed away your time in a manner not unlike my daily endeavors.   So stop paying for that kitchen cleaner that kills 99.9% of everything.   No matter what you do, you and your ratty little tyke are going to die in the end.   You are not saving his life.  At best you are wasting time and money.  At worst you are creating monster bacteria that will whittle your beloved child to a toothpick.

    So, these are the sort of thoughts that ripple through my brain when those little asshole flies buzz in my ears and get in my face.   Near or perhaps at derangement.

This entry was posted in Landscape, Painting, Plein Air, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bugs – 99.9%

  1. Jala Pfaff says:

    This is why I don’t paint outside. :)

    Lovely subtle painting. One of my favorites.

  2. Nava says:

    Ahhh, cheerful and full of optimism as ever, Bill. Mosquitoes and flies are only one of my pondering when it comes to an interview with da creator.

    Nice painting, that totally contrasts the spirit of the blog pots with its serenity and subtlety. Is that a smashed fly in the center?…

  3. Rebecca says:

    Pests are very pesty. Painting inside has it’s merits. With some luck, the fumes could be killing some nasty pests and keeping them from bothering me. With some luck, the fumes could be killing some nasty pests and keeping them from bothering me. With some luck, the fumes could be killing some nasty pests and keeping them from bothering me. With some luck, the fumes could be killing some nasty pests and keeping them from bothering me. What was I saying again? (and again)

  4. Lori says:

    Cool painting, you should see whats been happening to our power poles down here, the salt spray is making them arc and then catching the drought dried weeds and or poles on fire. The utilities and or fire dept. has been here three times the last month. Thirty feet of my front yard went up in flames yesterday.
    We use bug spray down here, the mosquitoes and sand flies don’t like it much. Of course I don’t know how good it is for the skin but I don’t worry about that. I don’t think the bugs are too good for the skin either.

  5. Dar says:

    A friend in Australia sent me a hat to wear in the garden. It has a dozen little corks dangling from the brim. I guess the idea is that the corks swat away mosquitoes. It doesn’t do a damn thing for rabbits however.

    I don’t want to create super germs, so 99.9% of the time, I don’t clean my house.

    A very cool painting!

  6. wrjones says:

    Jala – thanks. Painting outside is mostly enjoyable and is very challenging. Once in a while the elements or bugs drive you back inside to drink heavily.

    Nava – as you well know, I’m a glass half full type of guy.

    ‘becca – I like the effect of those fumes on you. I would ask you for a beer and you would – “You ready for another, Bill? You ready for another, Bill? You ready for another, Bill?”

    Lori – I really can’t handle mosquitoes anymore. Maybe the smoke from the fires will keep them away. Even when you use bug spray you can hear them buzzing waiting for the spray to wear off.

    Dar – I like a woman who knows what not to do 99.9% of the time. I will take this lesson from you.

  7. Hey, Bill,
    Did you have a pleasant day?

    I understand from the old saying that you have to eat a peck of dirt before you die. Some of these antiseptized people are going to live awfully long lives, I guess.

    BTW I’m with Dar on the house cleaning. If it got too clean, we wouldn’t build up any resistance, would we.
    K

  8. Carol King says:

    I am fascinated by the fact that all the little kids these days (including my slew of nieces and nephews) are all allergic to something. Nuts are now the eqivilent of pure evil. Cheese, eggs, you name it, kids can’t eat it. And now they all have asthma. What’s up with that?

    When I was little and playing on the sidewalks of Brooklyn, there were NO KIDS with allergies or asthma and we all played in the street and on the sidewalks all the time and our parents weren’t chasing us with antibacterial crap. My mother would leave the chicken on the counter to defrost. We never once got salmonella. Although I probably inhaled my share of 2nd hand smoke, but that’s another post.

    I agree with Nava, this post is interestingly juxtaposed with your sweet painting.

    And I 99.9% agree with Dar. Why clean the house? It’s just gonna get dirty all over again.

  9. Carol King says:

    Oh, and if there is a mosquito within 50 miles of me, it will HUNT ME DOWN AND BITE ME. Over and over and over again. I hate those little bastards.

  10. Rebecca says:

    Bill is a juxtaposition, if you can be.

    Hey, you wanna nother beer yet? :)

    I’m so glad you get me….

  11. Angela says:

    Agreed 99.9%! I am always trying to explain Lysol and bug evolution to people, but I’ve had to tone it way down ’cause guess who’s kid got hospitalized with salmonella poisoning this winter? Figures.

    As to mosquitoes – I was living in a town once where they decided to spray for mosquitoes one summer – cost a lot, but worked great! Of course the next year they tried again, it didn’t work at all (bug evolution!) and guess what else? No bats. It took one year for the bats to die off/leave – 5 to lure them back. Yuck, you can’t imagine how many skeeters there were in between! I know they’re our state bird, but I don’t think there’s anyone who’d miss them up here in MN!

  12. Angela says:

    Oh – and yes we need bats, not just because their shit is phenomenal fertilizer. They also do a lot of pollinating!

  13. wrjones says:

    K – If you, Dar, and Carol are not going to clean house could you do my laundry and ironing?

    Carol – They are little bastards alright. I bet not one of them can name their father or their mother for that matter.

    Rebecca – I wanna, I wanna, I wanna.

    Angela – When I was a kid they would drive trucks slowly through town spraying DDT. We use to run along side of the trunk in the fog of chemicals. Now I lay thin shelled eggs. Thanks for the info on bats. They mostly really are valuable little critters. I was in Austin, TX and watched the nightly exodus of 1.5 million bats from under the bridge. It was an awsome sight. And I read, but forget, the huge amount of bugs they eat per night.

  14. Rebecca says:

    Well, go read my blog, leave a nice comment and I’ll send you a virtual beer. no calories!

  15. Bill – such a beautiful, dreamy painting. Makes me want to paint outside, but the mosquitoes love me too much. Great post about bugs.

  16. wrjones says:

    Rebecca – here I come.

    Connie – Thanks. There is something very special about painting outside. It is difficult under the best weather and bug conditions but can be very enjoyable inspite of some discompfort.

  17. I like the angle you chose for this painting!

    if we could vote on such things, i’d vote for eliminating the bugs.

    Holly

  18. wrjones says:

    Holly – All bugs? Don’t we need bees? I think just flies and mosquitoes but even those could drastically change the enviornment.

  19. Bonnie Luria says:

    We’ve really lost our collective minds when trash bags are sold with ” antibacterial ” features.
    Is this not garbage? To be thrown out? Can we not touch something without fear of hanta virus, hysteria or .01% of harmful bacteria breaking through our protective barrier and falling us like trees?!!!!!!
    Once again Bill, you’ve nailed a collective social wackiness into the wall of good sense. Let’s hope it stays there.

  20. wrjones says:

    Bonnie – as we both know by now, the amount of ignorance in the world is staggering. Ever served on a jury? That is a real treat. You find yourself saying over and over, “look, I can only tell you, I can’t give you the brains to understand.”

Leave a Reply

