Pony

By W R Jones (Cowboy Legend).

colt

    I can’t draw a horse for  shit.   I took a workshop by a very knowledgeable artist who clearly was a horseman.   Didn’t take.   You would think I could draw a car since that is what we ride everyday.   Nope, can’t draw them very well either.   Well, what does that leave?   I’m thinking walnuts.  But they have a bumpy surface so I guess I’m left with a grape.  That is what Lisa does.

   This  pony reminds me of 38 weeks  of school, 8 hours a day in the Navy.    Every week we had a test.   Sometimes we would know the questions and answers before the test.   Maybe the word ‘pony’ came from the instructor that  would stomp his foot when a question was going to be on the test.

    We would call these tips “ponies” and ask each other before the test if we had any ponies to ride.  Ethics aside, and they always were way aside, there is is nice warm fuzzy feeling  about knowing the answer to a question in advance.

    I passed that school and went on  to become a nearly world famous scientist.  I’m currently looking for investors in my “warm” fusion project.  The payout is ENORMOUS  now don’t be a weak investor and get this mixed up with payback.

    Eagerly awaiting your envestment.   The Right Reverended Shifty Greenbacks.

This entry was posted in Drawing, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pony

  1. Amber says:

    I can’t draw horses or cars very well either, but I think it’s a good sketch of a pony. It captures the cuteness of it. :)

  2. That ain’t such a bad pony, Bill. You got to feed him a little better. He’s just kinda skinny. — AK

  3. 100swallows says:

    That’s a wonderful horsie, Bill–honestly.

  4. Rebecca says:

    Bill, stop copying 12th century Asian art ponies!

    Warm fusion is an interesting idea. Um, I wonder how you get the matter to do anything constructive like create energy when they are warm and laid back like that. Haven’t you ever been to Guam or Hawaii..nothing really happens there, no energy exerted…too warm to do anything but eat.

  5. Oh, I am just now getting it. Warms fusion — it’s kind of like warm rum and coke or something??

    Now if you were imbibing some warm fusion, Bill, that could explain why your pony is so boney.

    (Though he’s still kinda purty.) ak

  6. wrjones says:

    Amber – you really know how to leave a comment – I love you.

    Aletha – hay ain’t hay. The little feller better learn to like the neightbor’s lawn.

    Rebecca – I’m a hopeless copier in both senses of the word. I copy like a mad man and they are always poor copies. When I think of adding “After so and so” I have to laugh. A moron can figure out who the real painter was.

    100Swallows – I do think you can tell it from a car?

    Aletha – he is still boney because the idiot neighbor had his lawn mowed. I do drink a bit. That lying scheming Lisa told me I had SEVEN typos in one of my recent posts. She seems to think I have been drinking during posting. Ok, just a little.

  7. Gwen says:

    I think you did a fine job! At least it appears Equine in nature…more than I can say for some I’ve drawn that looked like Jackalopes.

  8. swatch says:

    I love this piece of art. I think I can see concentration and care – if not the looseness of a horsey artist.

  9. PegiSue says:

    Thanks so much for the new bedspread…but I may not be needing it!!! Everything fell thru on the “Mom buys this house, we live in her old house”…BUT!!!!!!!! We found a house 1 block away from her, and it is huge!!! 4 bdrms/3baths…over 100 years old, used to be located at the springs, DeLeon Springs. They moved it to where it is now. We got it SO cheap and move on Friday!!! LIFE IS GOOD AGAIN!!!!:)
    Thanks for the laughs!!!:)
    BTW, it’s TIME!!!! Let’s partake in alcoholic beverages together!!:):):)

  10. Carol King says:

    Dear Right Reverend,

    What’s the difference between a horse and a pony? And why do some people call it playing the ponies when they are really betting on horses?

    If you send me $10 I will give you the answers to the above questions.

    Nice drawing.

  11. wrjones says:

    Gwen – I like you a lot!

    Swatch – thanks. I like your comment style!

    Pegisue – so glad you found a home. I’m celebrating for you right now with a wine.

    Dear Carol. I’m hard pressed to tell shit from applesauce. Why do you ask a known idiot a tricky question like this?

  12. Warm fusion would be an excellent name for a drink, or a rock band.

    And Bill… this sketch is quite nice, especially if you did this from life.

  13. wrjones says:

    Diana – You are good at naming bands and drinks. How is the sketch if it was drawn from a still life setup of an orange? This drawing business is very slippery.

Leave a Reply

