Big is Beautiful

by Lisa

ludmilla_back

This is a model who is very familiar to the art school circuit here in Southern Cal. She is a full-bodied woman as you can see. I love to draw her, and believe that she is far more interesting than these bean poles models without a single dimple, who often show up on our stages. I’m sorry, but perfect is not interesting. Our large woman seems to know that she has a particular beauty about her. She has an abundance of confidence, and does not refrain from striking a single pose. (Aside from form, we also understand anatomy completely, thanks to her sessions.) And strike poses she does. Some models wait for you to lift their starving little arms and drape them across the back of the couch. But not our full-bodied model. She takes initiative and moves, twists, and bends like the consummate pro. One feels great intimacy at the end of a session with her. She certainly has a way of weeding out the immature male imposters in the room. She is only for the serious student.

I wish I had one ounce of her courage.

This entry was posted in Drawing, Raves. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Big is Beautiful

  1. Jala Pfaff says:

    I love this drawing.

    You’re lucky to have such a great model!

  2. Hi Lisa..
    I haven’t seen a full bodied model in many many years… And you’re right (of course) they are interesting to draw.

    Hope all is well with you!!

  3. suburbanlife says:

    Very comfortable drawing – she is inhabiting her form very beautifully. We had a model back in art school in the 60’s here – Jan – she was a most beautiful behemoth. I always found myself getting great drawings of her. She had great confidence, presence and she furnished my early life-drawing years in a marveloous fashion. To be so comfortable in one’s skin and body is a huge gift! G

  4. lbtowers says:

    We had her again today, but this time, she was clothed. Everyone did great head studies of her with her big colorful hat with bright green feather. She is a crowd pleaser and does not disappoint.

  5. Rhonda says:

    Beautiful drawing, Lisa. Yes, it is a real gift to be happy in one’s own body and not just see the “flaws.”

  6. Beautiful, beautiful drawing!

  7. Mary says:

    Wow I really like this drawing! I’d never done a life drawing class until I started Art school a couple of years ago, the first model we had was this wrinkly little old lady! She was great, none of the other models ever compared :)

  8. Carol King says:

    I can’t believe I didn’t comment on this drawing. Big IS indeed beautiful when it comes to this lovely sketch. I really like this one Bill.

  9. wrjones says:

    Carol – I’m glad you like it but it was drawn by Lisa. So I will just go ahead and delete your comment; no sense in giving her a big head.

Leave a Reply

