Send Chocolate

by Lisa

       I get a flu shot every year. And it doesn’t tickle. And I pay for it. And I cruise along boasting to people, less clever than me, that I have had my shot, and will escape the perils of the dreaded flu this year. I campaign for the vaccine. I scold people and tell them that if they would get a shot too, that the flu would be less likely to spread. Therefore, it seems a tad unjustice to me when I come down with the stinkin’ flu. That’s right, Lisa is running a fever right now, accompanied by aches and pains. And she is darn cranky about it. I feel like, if I had the strength, I’d go over to the pharmacy where that smug little man injected me with the useless virus, I’d grab him by his starched lab coat lapels, and breath right in his face. Just to be sure, I might  just plant a big wet one on his mouth. “See if that vaccine works for you now, DUDE.” That is IF I had the the strength… they know they have a captive audience.

       So I will be sitting here for days trying to outlast the fever, near my trusty computer and expect lots of emails and sympathy for the one who at least tried to stem the great influenza virus of ’09. Though I have little appetite, I love chocolates. See’s Candies are my favorites.

This entry was posted in Humor, On Suffering. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Send Chocolate

  1. Rhonda says:

    What? Not only no candies but no comments? How very rude of people, Lisa!! I assure you wer are all aggrieved at your situation with the flu from which you thought you were protected. Hope you are well soon.

  2. Barbara Pask says:

    Take care of yourself and feel better soon. I agree chocolate is good for everything, sickness, depression and the list goes on and on. Any reason is a good reason to eat chocolate and if you are sick you deserve chocolate.

  3. lbtowers says:

    Gee. Thanks all two of you. I’m beginning to think Bill is more loved than me.

  4. Lori says:

    Awww poor baby!! {{{Hugs}}}

    There, feel better now? :oD

    The same thing happens to me every time I get the flu shot. I get the flu. Guess what, I didn’t get the shot this time and no flu! My son got the shot and he got the flu.

    Get you some chocolates, ginger ale, orange juice and chicken soup. Lurid novel or three. Everything will be all right, there there.

Leave a Reply

