Stripes Gone Wild

by Lisa

     stripes

         What was I thinking? I bought this beautiful piece of striped fabric at a garage sale two weekends ago, and decided it would be wonderful draped around a nude. Got any striped fabric in your house? Maybe a sheet? Try draping it around something. Follow the stripes, and see if YOUR brain begins to have seizures. Now try to imagine painting it–drapes AND stripes. BUT WAIT. Imagine that the fabric also has a shiny surface to it. Throw that into the cesspool of mental vomit. This is how I felt after Friday’s session of painting where I insisted on using said fabric on nude. Oh it was a thing of beauty to behold, but if you only have two and a half hours to paint the darn thing, you better have Flight of The Bumblebees wailing on the boom box, a handful of No Doze, and a gun at your head, or it ain’t gonna happen. My poor students. I threw this one at them last week before I even tried to paint it. Wonder if they’ll show up this week.

This entry was posted in Painting, Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stripes Gone Wild

  1. Now, Lisa, you know you can do this – as for your poor students, well…hope they are brave enough to return!

  2. Ooohh. Your students all have migraines, I’m sure. Rhonda’s in my class….I need to go garage saling to hunt up some torture for them. Thanks for the idea. Love your posts and really love yours and Bill’s paintings.

  3. OMG!!
    I STILL remember the first class I ever had with you and all you were having your students do when I walked in was to paint a silly pink satin napkin… No nude…. no stripes… NADA…
    Maybe they’ll ignore the stripes and just try to get the draping effect….

    I’d LOVE to see how yours turned out!! I’ll bet it’s spectaular!!

  4. suburbanlife says:

    I love this post. I have, and will continue to torture painting students with tough calls. one still life had bronze material and objects of a different sheen and texture. I really thought they were going to pillorie me, but it was a heck of an exercise in limited colour and texture. For some reason although they rolled their eyes a lot, they didn’t rebel. I love your fabric – it would be fun to paint – sans nude. G

  5. Jala Pfaff says:

    Yeah, I don’t think I will be trying a striped shiny fabric for a 2-hr. (or even a 10-hr.) session any time in THIS lifetime.

  6. kimiam says:

    lol, this reminds me of some of the days I’ve had teaching. They always come back, though.

  7. Leslie Saeta says:

    Good for you … teachers are suppose to push their students into trying things that are “out of their comfort zone”. Besides, the fabric is beautiful! And I love your work too!

Leave a Reply

