Talk About COLD!!!

by Lisarussia_tower1

Aren’t you proud of me Bill? I went all the way to Russia, and stood outside in 22 degrees below zero to paint this little study of a tower. It was so cold my brush went twig-like in seconds and I had to give up on brush technique altogether. I painted by squeezing the pigment directly from the tubes that I kept warm inside my long underwear.  After a few minutes with one tube, that baby would freeze up and I would have to shove that little ice cube tube back into my pants for warming again. It was so cold, I lost three fingers, five toes and a nose, to frostbite. I looked like Lucy coming out of the deep freeze. But I have this to show for it.

And if you believe that, I have a house to sell you at 2007 prices.

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, On Suffering, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Talk About COLD!!!

  1. sandysays1 says:

    Been there – done that – not fun. Brrrr! I’m gullible. Visit http://www.SandySays1.wordpress.com for Sandy’s Super Bowl Party report.

  2. wrjones says:

    So that’s why you walk so funny.

  3. Jala Pfaff says:

    I’ll take it (the house)! :)

  4. wrjones says:

    Sandysays1 – I read your last post, a little lengthy for a man (this is Bill writing) with severe ADD but very very well written and entertaining. The reason I’m adding this comment (besides just to screw up Lisa’s post) is I’m wondering why your comment is not linked to you thru “sandysays1” since you are a wordpress blogger.

  5. sandysays1 says:

    WR,

    Came to take a more extensive look at your site and I’m sure glad I did! Great art, great text, WELL DONE! By the way I’ll see if I can get you on the Geezer’s party invitation list in the future. Your “Root Canal,” reminds me of my knee replacement. See one of my older posts titled “Caught in the pot.” — Sandy

  6. sandysays1 says:

    Answering your 7:01 question – I don’t know. It might be something I’m not doing – I’m new at blogging. Sandy aka DL Havlin

  7. wrjones says:

    Sandy – the root canal belongs to Lisa. I would never go thru that without heavy drugs so it would be a positive experience for me. Did you damage your knee kicking the dog? I did that once. Now I have a small soft dog.

  8. lbtowers says:

    DL I LOVED the Super Bowl story! It is hysterical, and anyone who reads this should look at the first comment above, and go to the link for the story. I am taking a creative writing class, and doing a lot of reading of short stories these days, so I appreciate your work!

    I’m curious how you found us?

  9. 100swallows says:

    I like that painting, Lisa. Is that really Russia or is the whole story B(ill.S.?

  10. lbtowers says:

    Yes, that is really Russia 100swallows. Now, if Bull had written this, doubt away.

Leave a Reply

