God Is Not Green

By W. R. Jones – I don’t think Lisa wants anything to do with this post; she shys away from religion.

angelfile

    I was talking with a dear friend the other day who is of the opinion that there is no other life in the universe but for what we have on earth.   I pointed out that the universe is fairly large.   I mean, hundreds of millions of light years across.  Light moves along rather quickly so if you calculate, it is quite a long walk across the whole thing.

    So if God only has us to attend to, and He, in my opinion, is not doing an exemplary job at that, what is all that other stuff for out there?  Isn’t that hugely wasteful of raw material?  We only really need a moon, sun, and a sprinkling of other stars to wish upon.  And if you will think back over your life wishing on a star is about as fruitful as playing the lotto.  As dear old mom said, “Wish in one hand, shit in the other, see which one fills up the fastest.”

    How does light travel all that way and that fast?  He really throws hard.   Traveling for a 100 million years, wow, that is OLD.  I wonder if it is wrinkled by the time it gets here.  I would think it would be all tuckered out and just sort of drop to the earth of exhaustion.  Come to think of it, that is just how it appears in my paintings.

    If I should drown in water conditioning  tonight please start a class action suit against Erin, I’m fairly certain it is intentional.

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, Painting, Plein Air. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to God Is Not Green

  1. Rebecca says:

    Yea, seems like a flaw in the plan, eh? Or, maybe he made that huge universe so, like other parents, we would be encouraged to explore it, thinking we could indeed make a difference in the Universe, only to find out later there wasn’t much point in trying because we can’t change shit and there’s no hope out there, so we become republicans.

  2. Rebecca says:

    OH GOD! Please let there be other life.. I can’t continue to suspend reality during my favorite sci-fi programs without the hope!! :)

  3. Lori says:

    I like this painting and the last one you did too. I wish I was there instead of here taking down the Christmas tree all by my self! I am not thrilled with religion right now, especially the remains of Christmas in my living room.

  4. Bertrand Russell in his book “Why I’m Not A Christian” wanted to know why Christians don’t ask “who created God?” What’s with Obama talkin about Christians, Jews, Muslims, and NON-BELIEVERS?! That dude is goin straight ta hell!
    Speaking of hell, you are one hell of a funny writer

  5. wrjones says:

    Rebecca – I’m with you, hoping for other life. I need to find a market for my paintings.

    Lori – I think the most important purpose of religion is to have Christmas so I can open stuff under the tree. It is almost Feb, Lori. You could probably just touch a match to that tree to get rid of it.

    David – You have to have FAITH. If you don’t have any, you can get it by sending your money directly to God through me. Cash please.

  6. lori says:

    Well, I was hoping the good fairies would take down all the ornaments and pack them away for me. I feel the same way about opening stuff.

  7. Bill, Did your dear old Mom really say that? Hard to believe! Holly

  8. Having opinions about things is grand, but does not make them so. Or not so. Socrates thought he was the smartest guy around because he admitted his ignorance. And since an expression of ignorance makes for a true assertion, he was therefore demonstrably “wise.” This works almost all the time — except in conversation with a State Trooper in reply to the question, “Do you know how fast you were going ….”

    My opinion is that God is real, but as to the contents of the entire universe — that’s a pretty big box to peer into! I’m still trying to organize my purse — which is somewhat like a black hole — stuff falls in and never comes out. Well, except for money which falls out and never comes back!

    Love the landscape — it certainly leaves room for the possibility of God (somewhere between those clouds, I think).

  9. Have you ever seen this?

    What I want to know is why did God invent hamsters?

  10. 01varvara says:

    Hmm… it looks like you were trying to be Shishkin or Klever… I would say that you needed more sky and a few more clouds. Of course, I am no artist (how’s that for admitting ignorance?), rather, only an opinionated art-lover.

    As for God… pour yourself a slug of something good and don’t give yourself Excedrin Headache #113 trying to figure out what is beyond all of our abilities. For the record, I am on God’s side, but, I am not going to argue the point with anyone. We shall all find out soon enough (I am not rushing that day, though).

    Do pass me the jug when you are through, Bill… that is something we can agree on.

    Vara
    “Just the facts, ma’am”

  11. Your painting reveals the greatness of nature. It is easy to look at the sky and land and wonder about it all. Not too sure about religion and the like, but I tend to put a lot of faith into hope.

  12. wrjones says:

    Lori – I stopped putting up a tree because of the hassle of taking it down. Once those gifts are open I lose interest in the decorations.

    Holly – yes she did say exactly that. Another of her expressions was “Just pick the white out of that chicken shit.”

    Aletha – execellent analogy between your purse and the universe. Cute little hamster!

    Vara – someone has been in my good stuff and left me with the $2 wine, but you are welcome to share.

    Preston – I hope you keep shooting those wonderful photos that show the beauty of man and nature.

  13. kimiam says:

    Bills, I love laughing. Thank you.

  14. gypsy-heart says:

    I really like this piece. The trees in the front seem to be reaching to the sky…as if, seeking the answers.

    I know we aren’t alone here, and I can’t imagine that this is all there is. :)

Leave a Reply

