The Great Inauguration and the Great Wall of China

by Lisa

What a day. After watching the inaugural festivities all morning, I went to the new class that I am taking–creative writing. My route there involves driving up over the grade on the freeway, and once over the hill, there is the most spectacular view of Simi Valley with the mountains as its backdrop. It was a bright sunny day here, and though I have driven this way many times, I felt I had never seen it so lovely. I burst into tears. I blubbered like an idiot all the way to the college and had to forcibly gather myself before getting out of my car.

delicate_bowl

       This is a miniature painting I did of a delicate little bowl that my mom brought me from China years ago. Love this bowl–have painted it many times. It is so delicate that it is hard to resist the urge to squeeze it in your hand to see if it would break like an eggshell. I always thought that if I had two of them I might just test it so I would always have one left over.

       Well, be careful what you wish for. It looks like I will be going to China in April, and will be able to shop for a few of these little gems myself. I say be careful what you wish for because I am not a good flyer. Now I have that  little incident with geese the other day that were turned into pate when they came into contact with a certain airliner to really keep me on the edge of my seat. The seat I will be in for 17 hours straight. It doesn’t matter–drugs, mile high club, first class. It will still be torture. My mom, who is going “with” me, refuses to actually fly there “with” me. She has traveled “with” me before. I’m really hurt.

       I will say, I can’t wait to be there. Forget about the Great Wall, and the Terracotta Warriors, I want a fried scorpion. I want to try Chinese food that is not loaded with MSG and thickened with starch. I don’t  like American Chinese food at all. Blaah. No. Fried scorpions. Real Chinese cuisine. I can’t wait.

This entry was posted in A Mother's Love, A Painting a Day, Humor, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Great Inauguration and the Great Wall of China

  1. Rebecca says:

    My parents warned not to eat from the street vendors.

    And, during the trip ‘Hong Kong to Singapore’ in April, I think, they said, “We thought we had been hot. We thought we knew what hot was. We didn’t think it was possible to be so hot, we thought we might die, but we learned what hot really feels like here!”

    Quick advice: go to an open market, buy cotton slip dresses.

    Come to think of it, might not have been April.
    The flight was good though!!! :)

  2. Rebecca says:

    ps. nice painting!

  3. Lisa – what a gorgeous painting –
    I can relate to what you said about flying – I don’t like it at all and just like you the geese thing freaked me out. My boss and I go round and round because I won’t attend training if I have to fly. The last time he made me I had a heart attack less than 48 hours later (and now I use that to my full advantage – ha ha)

  4. Angela says:

    I can’t stand American Chinese food either – soooo greasy, yet starchy. Yuck! Have had a friend’s mother visit and make the ‘real’ stuff though and yummmmm!

    Good luck with your plane ride! Wishing you much luck finding a dr. willing to give you a generous prescription of Xanax! :)

  5. lbtowers says:

    Cara, are you SERIOUS??? Did you have a heart attack? This is not helping my anxiety. And yes, xanax is the order of the day believe me.

  6. Georgia says:

    The miniature painting is lovely!!!
    I have been to China, and you will really enjoy your trip there and some of the food, depends where and what you eat that is. The flight was loooong but managed to enjoy it with the group of people we were with. My biggest fear of the flight was that the stewardess was literally going to throw us out just because we all kept gathering in one spot just to pass the time.
    As for the miracle on the hudson plane crash last week, my cousin was on it. They were the young couple with the 2 young kids who were on the Today show the next morning. I think they are still in shock today and because of all the nonstop attention and interviews that they are having, have not had the time to really grasp what the rest of us are really feeling.
    I travel to Europe a lot, and I still hate those long flights and as I am getting older, hate them even more. Needless to say after my cousin’s experience, my next flight will definitely NOT be a comfortable one for me either.

  7. Lori says:

    Lisa how mini a mini is that painting, I love it! I especially like the little red berries. They glow and look perfect.

    About flying, here is what my mother always told me, “The pilot does not want to die either so he will do his best!” For some reason the pilots who were flying the planes my mother and I took were always these gorgeous hunks, we just KNEW we were safe with them.

  8. Lisa – I had a very interesting little heart attack. Oddly enough I was in the ER when it hit.I was flat lined for almost 45 minutes despite all medical measures. The doctor finally gave the order to cease CPR and sent the nurse to go get my husband to say goodbye before they turned off the equipment. When he walked through the door my heart started beating again on its own. The sudden and unexpected beeping of the monitors scared the hell out of the doctor and nurses who told me later they had never seen anything like that.

    I wonder where I was?

    But in all honesty the heart attack wasn’t caused by the flight. I did have to run to make a connection so looking back I was lucky it didn’t happen then or I’d be history.

    Have recovered well but use this to full advantage at work when they talk about sending me to another workshop – ha ha!

  9. lbtowers says:

    Wow Georgia! Thanks for sharing that detail about your cousin. I vaguely recall seeing them on the Today show, but I was busy doing things, and was not honed in. Anyway, I am so glad it went so well in the end. There would certainly be no joking about it had one person died.

    I wish I had a group to go with. Like I said, my own mom won’t even fly with me. And what do you mean you were gathering in one “spot”. Are there “spots” in which to gather on these long flights?

    I like the way you think Lori. I will definitely be checking whether or not the pilots are hotties now.

  10. Are you REALLY going to China? (Or was this a story you wrote for your creative writing class???)
    If you are really going…. I AM SOOOOOOOOOO jealous. I’ve been wanting to go for quite some time and can’t quite drag my husband with me.

    I may have to go alone. I can’t wait to hear about all of your adventures?… How long will you be there?

    Bye the way… The painting of your bowl is, of course….. wonderful. I was afraid as you started talking about China that you broke it and had to go there to replace it… but thankfully… it was just the lead in excuse…..

  11. lbtowers says:

    Marian you can go with us! We are going with Grand Circle Travel(www.gct.com). The two week trip. But you will have to fly with me.

  12. lori says:

    I’ll fly with you too Lisa, Marian can sit on the other side of you so you will be safe in the middle. We will point out all the hunks to you and hold your hands and say “There there, everything will be all right, just look at the a– on that one there!”

  13. The flight sounds awful to me too. I’m not good with sitting for long periods of time.

    Be sure to take a round of anti-parasiticals when you return home. If you’re eating food over there, you’re very likely to pick up unwanted guests to your person. Hepatitis is also a huge problem in China (rates are 10 times what they are in the US).

  14. jeannie says:

    Hi Lisa, I love the Blue & White in your pretty painting. I do read your blog and I always enjoy it (bill too). It is so funny, I can’t imagine why you would need a creative writing class!

    This is the first time I have read any comments and have never thought of posting but I want to help you with New Years Resolution…# 6?

    Love your stuff, your sister in law (do I count as family?)
    Jeannie

  15. lbtowers says:

    Hi sister Jeannie!!! Of course you count as family! I am indeed feeling much better now about #6!!! And you may just win a door prize for commenting since you are the only one in the family who has ever done so. How about potato latke’s next Christmas? Just me and you.

Leave a Reply

