Expectation, The Mother Of Dissapointment

By WR Jones

wildwood

    I was listening to the wind scatter the whining of Miss Climate Control when I started pondering why paint at all.   After rummaging around in my mind for a while it came back to me; oh ya, to impress the ladies.

   Clearly the product wasn’t doing the trick.  Then, in an epiphany of salesmanship, I saw the way; just tell them.

    The first opportunity came at the gym last Friday.   I saw this woman sitting alone in front of the TV.   I approached and asked her did she know who I was.  She said no, but I could ask at the front desk, they might be able to help as they had photos of all the members.

    Pretty promising so far.  I asked if she knew what a good painter I was.   “No, and further more, I don’t give a shit.  Could you step out of the way of the TV?  Move on and tell someone who cares.”   Perfect, I always liked a tough sale.

    I started my pitch.  I could ride a PBR bull longer than she stayed with me.  She hung in there a good 3 or 4 seconds before her eyes rolled back and she pitched forward in a boredom coma.  

    I left her there on the floor.  I had to get to my muscle conditioning class.  I’m giving up painting for Extreme Cage Fighting.

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, Painting, Plein Air. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Expectation, The Mother Of Dissapointment

  1. Geez… I’m the first to post on this one. I’m so excited I don’t know what to say. Oh…you best stay with painting, the extreme cage fighting might cause too much attention and then you would never have time to paint.

  2. Rhonda says:

    Bill, sweetie, they just don’t appreciate you!!

  3. 100swallows says:

    Bill: Maybe you shouldn’t have started with Disappointment’s mother. She is famously tough. I like that painting.

  4. Lisa B. says:

    Cage fighting? Your doctor is going to have to install a drive-up window!

  5. Barbara Pask says:

    It is a shame more people are not impressed with us, just the fact that we are artists should impress the hell out of them. But, I haven’t found that to be true either, I think when I start in about art most peoples minds just wonder off someplace else. That is why I hang out with other artists as often as I can, they get it. They may not be impressed with me either but they at least pretend they are.

  6. In Europe when I told people I was a painter, they generally said “Wow.What kind of work do you do?
    In North America, they look at you as if you are crazy (which might just be so) and say, “But how do you earn a living?”
    Mrs. Muscle just doesn’t know how sensitive and caring we artists are. She’s missing out.
    If the TV at the gym is more important to her, then you’re not missing anything in this chick. She’s brain dead up above the muscle part of her body.
    K
    artiseternal.wordpress.com

  7. Painting, writing, making people smile… All gifts!
    Glad you do it all!
    Tell Lisa I love the new “banner” as well.

  8. Carol King says:

    I laughed out loud when she pitched forward in a boredom coma! Does that happen a lot when you talk to the women in gym?

    Extreme Cage Fighting? Will you be competing in Vegas soon? Do you have a “fighting name?” How about Col. “Kick Ass” Sanders?

  9. Bonnie Luria says:

    Maybe better to stay within the hallowed confines of your blog where you are known, revered, followed, and never, ever boring.

  10. wrjones says:

    Preston – here is how to lead the way in the future: “Oh, what a great painting, Bill.”

    Rhonda – I’m afraid you are right.

    100swallows – Thanks. She was tough but I left her on the floor.

    Lisa – It shouldn’t be that bad. I will tap out as soon as the other guy starts across the mat.

    Barbara – we boring people must stick together.

    K – I really wasn’t looking for a brain to talk to just someone to tell about my painting.

    Marian – thank you. It is a nice banner at that.

    Carol – Much more frequently than I like (ok, every time). I may stick with the name my mother gave me – “Shit for Brains”.

    Bonnie – thanks. If I had a feather I would reach right in there and tickle that foot.

  11. Rebecca says:

    Well, if you’re giving up painting, then You owe me this one…a cactus qualifies as a weed in my yard! I am glad my blog lifted your spirits this morning!! HA

  12. A most excellent and moody picture. Bill, you are deep. And bravo! for prevailing over the barbarian she-monster. Bull shit winneth every time.

  13. Erin M says:

    “Oh what a great painting, Bill.” There, now that I have gotten that out of the way…

    Why do you even talk to people at the gym? Gym rats have all the intellect of a gnat! You could paint dogs playing poker on black velvet & I suspect that the average Joe would call it “provocative” (if they could form the word!) or, more likely, “neat-O”

    Why do you think that I always carry a book…it keeps the “Goobers” at bay. Well, most of them anyway…wasn’t I reading when we met? HHHMMMMMMM?

    HAHA!

  14. wrjones says:

    Rebecca – Ya, that post of yours cheered me up so, this painting will be yours to hang next to those two hearts dangling from a tree. Lucky Eric, I would prefer some chocolate.

    Aletha – bull shit wins? Are you sure? Where the devil is my trophy? I should have a room full of them.

    Erin – Oh my, was that you that slumped to the floor in near fatal boredom? You know I would have stayed to check on you but the muscle conditioning class (with that cute, but WAY overly hard) instructor was filling up. I promise to never speak to you again, unless of course, I have something really interesting to share. In return for this fairly large sacrafice on my part, perhaps you could put a little more effort into seeing that I don’t drown!!!

  15. Jala Pfaff says:

    Sweet little painting! Love the cacti.

Leave a Reply

