Perfect

By W. R. Jones

clouds

    Did you ever have one of those perfect days where the weather was just right, the lighting sublime, your vision clear, the palette knife moves like you were a swordsman of old, the colors you mix match perfectly to what you see, the drawing is accurate, each stroke of the brush exactly where you want it with the edges hard or soft as required for the motif?  Me neither.

    Here is some other shit that went astray over the holiday period:

          My daughter bought Rose Bowl Tickets on speculation to sell them for a much higher price.   Nope, they were selling for less than face value so she and her boyfriend went to the game.   Cost $300.

          The washing machine broke – Cost $250.

          My wife took her mother and sister to LAX for flight back to El Salvador exactly one day after the actual flight time – Cost $300

          On Friday, my last day off,  jury duty –  priceless.

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Perfect

  1. Rhonda says:

    That’s some bad karma working itself out in your life and around you, Bill. Just think, get that stuff all cleared out and 2009 could be THE YEAR OF BILL!

  2. I did the “flight a day late” thing several years ago and it cost me 500. I was so mad at myself. So best wishes for a better week, and by the way, I love the painting you posted. You got that one right in spite of your week.

  3. Wow, I’d be bummed too. Sorry to hear about all that. But it’s only money, right? I mean, these blunders didn’t cost life or limb.

    It’s a nice painting, BTW. That dark sky might mean something, though.

  4. I had just said “no” when I read “me neither”.

    I’m sorry for your troubles, but I’m always so happy to visit…. You make me smile!!
    Thanks, Bill!
    Have a WONDERFUL(er) 2009!!!

  5. kimiam says:

    OMG, a tile in my master bathroom shower pan broke. I don’t know how much it will cost yet. I haven’t sold any tickets to any of the neighbors to come see it, either. Would you like to buy some tickets? …???

    /me hugs Bills.

  6. Lori says:

    Aw gee Bill, that painting looks great, just like you had a perfect day painting. Have a wonderful 2009 and may all your troubles be little ones!

  7. Jesse says:

    Bill, I actually just had one of those “perfect” days you mentioned. It was the first day of 2009, the temperature was hovering around 75 degrees with not a cloud in the sky. I ended up with a free ticket to the Rose bowl game, my team won easily, and I enjoyed a delicious bacon wrapped hot dog on the way home from the game. Thanks for the ticket, I greatly appreciate it.

  8. wrjones says:

    Rhonda – I like the sound of that. I think I have seen it on a Chinese menu somewhere.

    Connine – Thank you. You and my wife, a pair of big dummies.

    Diana – Thanks. There is a little rain cloud in that dark sky, waiting to drip on me.

    Marian – I’m certainly glad that my misfortune can bring a smile to your face.

    Kimiam – are you making fun of me? This was a sympathy seeking post. I don’t sense I’m getting it from you, but I will accept the hug. Did your dog die?

    Lori – Thank you. I was sort of hoping for no troubles at all, but as mom use to say, “Wish in one hand, shit in the other – see which one fills up faster.”

    Jesse – My pleasure. I looked for you and Erika on TV. She said you two would be wearing cardinal and gold shirts. With my color mixing skills I thought it would be a snap to pick you out; didn’t help.

  9. Dawn says:

    Love the painting. You need to post dimensions and prices!!
    transmission on jeep…1500.00
    promised scuba trip to son 5000.00
    I could talk about numerous little things, but I read an article that said positive people are healthier…so I’m TRYING to stay healthy!! Note the operative word is TRYING!!

  10. kimiam says:

    Bills, my dog didn’t die. I simply stopped using him to cover up fine lines and wrinkles in my blog pic.

  11. Barbara Pask says:

    Left a comment for you up on Lisa’s post. Try this again. wonderful painting Bill. Sorry about all of your bad luck over the holidays, hopefully with the new year will come some good luck.

  12. Rebecca says:

    Well, if you leave off Jury Duty, that was 3 really shitty things..thank God that was priceless!!

  13. wrjones says:

    Dawn – thanks. Tell your son to get his scuba gear then fill up the tub for him. After he is done, give him a nice dinner with a few beers and ask how he liked his diving vacation. Tip – leave a few quarters on the bottom of the tub for him to find.

    Kimiam – ya, I was just thinking what a prune you look like. And, I expect, that is white hair you have dyed blonde. You little beauty – I hope you get fat, then the dog will come bounding back.

    Barbara – Thanks. So very sorry you wasted a perfectly good comment on that junk of Lisa’s. I’m not sure how to get it back. She raps my knuckles if I get in her space.

    Rebecca – Yep, luckily the jury duty balanced everthing out for me.

  14. Jala Pfaff says:

    Fabulous painting! It looks like it was as effortless as you were wishing. Is that your house?

  15. Snap out of it, chin up, stiff upper lip, and HAPPY NEW YEAR for a year that’s really gonna suck, but I believe that the glass is half empty or half full, and any way, when the going gets tough the tough go to hell to make lemons out of lemonade, so there, and again have a happy new year so you can make us all laugh and let me finish by saying, buy American automobiles because their year is gonna suck too!

  16. I think that the trees in your picture are trying to communicate. The fluffy, assured tree on the left side of the picture has something particularly urgent and perky to say.

    What’s that? I’m not sure, but it sounds like “Fat chance about her cleaning your studio….” A metaphor for the “problem of the West vs East”? “the meaning of truth”? “man’s inhumanity to man”?

    How’s that? But, there’s more: “There are not enough Tootsie rolls in the universe,” it seems to say. Is this some allegorical/metaphorical commentary regarding the laws of physics?

    Wow. Art that truly speaks — with elegance, beauty and succinctness too, conveying a deep universal message.

    Now then. The whole upper half of the picture is sky. Obviously you’ve got your head in the clouds.

  17. Bonnie says:

    Oh No Mr. Bill!
    This kind of stuff is going around like some super collider.
    And now you’re done.
    Well, except for jury duty.
    Maybe if you share your blog with the jury foreman, they’ll excuse you.
    I mean, make them go back several posts and more.

    But that painting is guilty of being terrific and moody. I really like the darkness of the house and how you get so much in with a minimal amount of composition and content.

  18. Nava says:

    Ain’t holidays lovely? Hey, at least you got a great painting! HAPPY 2009!

  19. wrjones says:

    Jala – Thanks. That is what I would call the perfect comment. Not my house; a house along a walk I do a few times a week.

    David – thanks so much for cheering me up. Looking from the half full view, I’m not losing as much money as the car makers.

    Aletha – do you have to be so blunt? I’m sensitive. Is it too much to ask to pick up a bit for a poor old man?

    Bonnie – thanks, I think. I’m going to edit your comment to tighten it up a little. I will put a period after the terrific, and remove the rest of that paragraph. “Minimal amount of content”? Did you not read Aletha’s comment? There is a bunch of crap in this painting.

    Nava – thanks, Happy New Year to you.

  20. Dar says:

    I’m sorry about all the misfortune, Bill, but I really like the painting. Are you perhaps suffering for your art? It worked.
    How’s this for commiseration? I started 2009 with an ear ache and needing a root canal. I rang in the new year with vicodin, your favorite.

  21. wrjones says:

    Dar, baby, baby, baby – you need a friend to see you through this. How many refills do you have left? I can pick up some cheap wine and we can party ’til you forget about that tooth, ear, painting, resolutions, or until the pill bottle is empty.

    I am suffering for painting and all that other stuff too.

  22. carolking says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHA! This post cracked me up. Sadly, I’ve had many weeks like that. Don’t even get me started on the washer/dryer I bought from Best Buy. Shortly afterwards the dryer broke and now FIVE MONTHS LATER, we just got a new dryer.

    Oh yeah, this is YOUR post.

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this painting. It’s moody and mysterious! What size is it? Are you selling it?

  23. wrjones says:

    Carol – if you feel the need to vent, you are welcome to post here. Thanks for the positive feedback. It is 9″ x 12″ and is sold.

  24. Bill, good thing you got all that stuff out of the way. from now on, only good things will happen in 2009! Holly p.s. i like your blue sky!

  25. gypsy-heart says:

    I stopped by to see what is going on in your crazy world (and mind..eh, eh). I wanted to leave my note here because I really like this piece.
    A little jewel it is, and I hope it went to a good home.

  26. wrjones says:

    Holly – thanks. Oh 9 (This is how Bonnie writes it) is going to be a fabulous year.

    Gypsy-heart – it makes my heart happy to hear from you. It is headed to a warm, loving, home.

Leave a Reply

