Eternity

By W. R. Jones

This entry was posted in Landscape, Painting, Plein Air, Rants, Sea Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Eternity

  1. kimiam says:

    My favorite post ever!

  2. Rhonda says:

    Oh, you blasphemous little devil, you! I could tell you about the Nicene Creed and the men who chose which books would be in the Bible and all that – yep, I’ve had some education – but that would just ruin you, I’m sure. So just save a place at the salad bar for me, Bill (I think that’s all you get to eat in Hell = salad).

  3. Wine Blog says:

    I feel that God isn’t always the most fair character either. As for the bible, I just take it for what it is and apply the good things to my life and don’t worry if the book is translated accurately or written perfectly.

  4. Dawn says:

    Science(quantum physics) gives me hope that there are other dimensions and that there is an alternate existence such as heaven and hell. But I think it is our inner self (our soul) that determines our heaven or hell. If you feel damned you are. We will never know. We are like the 3 year old trying to understand how an adult can make a quarter appear from behind the ear. It’s magic even though it’s very explainable.

  5. I think we are way too limited to understand a supreme being. And I’ve always been puzzled about people who pray for a football win or similiar request. If there is a heaven, I hope I get to paint, read, and eat chocolate. Oh wait, I do that here…I must already be in heaven.

  6. Bill Sharp says:

    Man, you’re asking for trouble with this one, Bill. Are you trying to thin out your readership or lure some lurkers out of hiding?

    In my opinion, if there is a Big Man, he’s got an incredibly quirky sense of humor (I mean, look around you). I think you’re gonna be fine.

  7. wrjones says:

    Kimiam – Glad you liked it. Of course, I’m going to pay for this by routing directly to hell. But it was worth it to entertain you.

    Rhonda – If you tell me there are no melted Mr. Goodbars in hell, I’m going straight to church.

    Wine Blog – you sound pretty mellowed out there. Have you been in your product?

    Dawn – try to stay with us in this dimension and give us a little painting. And most of the time I act like I’m at least 4.

    Connie – excellent attitude. We are in heaven, at least until my wife discovers how much art stuff I charged this month.

    Bill – I’m begging for trouble as usual. I’m damn good at finding it if I do say so myself. Still, I don’t have any rats in my attic.

  8. I am a big joker.. anything for a laugh if its done right. but then….
    My son emailed me a funny little animated video of Satan doing an ridiculas song and dance number…and then the next week he died. You can’t believe how many times I think about that. I know it sounds silly but when you are in that moment (and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone)you see it totally different. Its too easy to be unconcerned this side of a loss. What was so easy to joke about one day became one of those things that will sit on a shelf in my mind from now on. I believe God must have a great sense of humor but at the same time, I have wondered if we are expected to have reverence and respect for some things.

  9. wrjones says:

    Cara – so very sorry for your loss. Losing a child is horrendous.

  10. silvina says:

    I know you’re just being a wise guy, but I have some suggestions. I’m currently reading a book by Donald Miller called Blue Like Jazz. I think you’ll appreciate his clever and irreverent sense of humor regarding religion.

    For something of a more reflective nature, try Brennan Manning’s The Ragamuffin Gospel. Oh, and if you want to crack a bible open, may I suggest you start in the middle of the book instead of at the beginning, say, Matthew, or better, dive right into Ephesians. You’ll need a bible written in today’s vernacular, a good one is The Message.

    If all of that is too boring for you and what you’re really looking for is action, adventure, sex, scandal, murder and so forth, just read the first half of the bible.

    Any other questions?

  11. Bill, it looks like you painted this as you were jumping off the cliff. what a wonderful interpretation of eternity!! Holly

  12. wrjones says:

    Silvinia, that is a big reading list are you a librarian?

    Holly – I got the last brush stroke in just before I hit the pavement and that jerk. In a Porche hit me. Now I’m laid up here with nothing for the pain buy a few stale GoodnPlenty

  13. bonnieluria says:

    Just because someone may be irreverent, doesn’t mean what they’re saying isn’t true! Or possible.
    A very brave and interesting topic right before the holidays.
    Find a copy of George Carlins’ ” When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops?”
    Read it and try not to choke on the ham bones as you laugh and think.

  14. Ever read “Why I’m Not A Christian” by Sir Bertrand Russell? I loved that book when I first read it at the age of 16. Are there any of those sexy truck mud flaps in Heaven, Bill?

  15. wrjones says:

    Bonnie – thanks for the suggestion. God is a stange leader. He makes Adam, yanks out a rib for a woman but then gets some desert woman pregnant for Jesus. Why didn’t he do the direct construction like on Adam. Try to imagine a parent telling the kid if you don’t love me, you will be punished beyound your belief. Of course, it is up to you. And that cancer I gave you, just to test to see if you love me when the going gets tough. I must be a bad parent, because I want only good to befall my childeren and don’t gived a damn if they love me or not.

    David, those sexy flaps abound in a good heaven. And they come off the flaps to sit in the cab with you for those long drives. That is precisely why it is called heaven.

Leave a Reply

