On Being Fair

by Lisa

 

oldmandreaming

        The other day, I got an email from an old boyfriend. It has been many many years since I last heard from him, and he apparently found his way to this blog by googling my maiden name, etc. (Hi Sal!) So it reminded me of this painting I did about 10 years ago. It is the only painting I ever signed with my maiden name of Baumeister though I have entertained the idea of using it since it sounds more European and edgy than freaking lilly-white-ugly-American ‘Towers’.

       The reason I signed this painting with ‘Baumeister’ is because it was in a competition, and I knew the judge, who shall remain nameless here. I did not want him to show bias. I wanted him to be impartial and fair. I did not want him to feel uncomfortable or pressured in any way. If I was going to win an award, I wanted it to be because he thought my painting deserved one. So I freaking LOST.  NOTHING. COAL IN THE STOCKING. ZIP. Yeah, that backfired big time.

       And that was the last freaking time I signed a painting ‘Baumeister’.

This entry was posted in Humor, Painting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On Being Fair

  1. Nava says:

    I always sign my art in Hebrew. Someone in our critique group once commented “Nava, this painting is exquisite, but you have that little pattern thingy at the bottom right, which is not repeating anywhere else, and it’s not good, design-wise”. Well, yeah, that was my signature – I’m not an ego maniac to go and spread it all over the painting! I wonder if that’s the reason for the lack of awards…

  2. Lisa – great painting and wonderful little story – love this.

  3. It IS interesting how people sign their name (or not)… Some even look like it’s a little stencil or something …

    By the way… You and Bill have been TAGGED… I hope you two don’t mind,…. Thought it would be fun to find out some deep dark unusual things about you…. but then again… would any of it be true?? Hmmmm…
    Well.. anyway… Tag you’re it.

  4. Barbara Pask says:

    Wonderful painting. I liked your story and I think it’s admirable wanting to be judged like everyone else but I think use whatever tools you’ve got, lol.

  5. kevmoore says:

    you think she should have signed it Rembrandt, then? ;-)

  6. lbtowers says:

    Kev, I want you to represent me. I like the way you think.

Leave a Reply

