On Looking Like Sarah

by Lisa

photo-of-self-w-cap

       This is how I usually look. What can I say, I’m a painter. But sometimes I want to look like Sarah Palin and dress in one of those nice little tailored Neiman Marcus suits, twist my hair in a deceptively tossled looking pile on top of my head to frame my perfectly coiffed face, and go out and expound on my limited knowledge. Oops contradiction in terms. Not nice considering “my” side won. Yes, YES, YES, SAY IT—HE VAS MY CANDIDATE!!!!! Indeed, I am a BIG fan of Barack Obama.  If I had had to wake up Wednesday morning to headlines that McCain and Sarah the Bun had won, I would be on serious prozac today titered to a level just below liver failure. I know I said I would keep politics out of our blog here, but to hell with it. I am one happy camper. Are you Bill?

       Hmmm. Maybe I could teach in one of those suits. And heels. Wouldn’t my students be surprised. Hell, they wouldn’t even recognize me. Would I be able to bend over in one of those tight skirts like Sarah Palin wears? Lift my arms above shoulder level in one of those form fitting jackets? Would I have to wear *gulps* panty hose? Okay, I just talked myself right out of it. Well, maybe I could get a Sarah Palin outfit just to wear next year for Halloween. 

       Nah. I’d rather be Michelle Obama.

This entry was posted in Humor, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to On Looking Like Sarah

  1. Rebecca says:

    Thank God! Finally, someone else to redecorate the White House!

    Yep, Lisa, I’m not on a Obama rant, either!

    http://www.smellyrhinostudio.blogspot.com

  2. Rebecca says:

    ok, AN Obama rant. oh yea, I forgot misspelling was part of this blog!

  3. Hehehe… I think u look much nicer as you are.. I don’t know why everyone goes stir-crazy over Sarah Palin… I guess she is kind of cutsie but come on! U summed it up well with “go out and expound my limited knowledge” lol

  4. The Pallin halloween suit on you next year for sure and like you, the hell with it!…yahoo!…the right man won. Sucka…you lost, Pallin (wink, wink). Now as for McCain…he gave the most gracious concession speech I ever heard. Bravo, McCain! The cap, the slight tilt of the head and the left arm casually resting on your easel.. very fetching…hmmm…”fetching”…is that the right word? Anyway, I meant that last statement as a compliment, and you do not need perfectly tossled hair and a Nieman Marcus suit.

  5. Nava says:

    I think Sarah Palin outfits must be on HUGE sales now. Better grab one for Halloween indeed, though I’ll never be able to talk my curls into becoming a perfectly tossled pile.

    And yes – although I did not vote (I am not a citizen yet) – YAY, what a relief!!!! it felt good to live such a big moment in history.

  6. ivdanu says:

    You look great, lisa! (I would say more but I don’t want to be hunted down and shot by bill!)

    And I’m immensely pleased my american friends finally open their eyes. Soon, if everything goes well, people around the world will love you again and you will not have to say you are Canadians any more…

  7. lbtowers says:

    That is pretty funny ivandu!!! Indeed, it’s hard to pass myself off as Canadian when I have a Southern accent though.

    And I have been taking that little French class just in case I needed to move.

  8. Erika says:

    I’m with you, yeah for Obama!!! Don’t worry, Bill’s political views did pass on to his daughter. I’m A LOT smarter than him.

  9. lbtowers says:

    Erika, did you mean did or did not?

  10. Erika says:

    Oops, I meant did not. apparently his spelling and grammar abilities did pass on.

  11. lbtowers says:

    …and it looks like a sense of humor trickled down too.

  12. wrjones says:

    Ivdanu – “Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet, but the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.”

  13. kevmoore says:

    Bill – You have a way with lyrics – want to collaborate on some songs? (I know you didn’t write it, but plagiarism is the sincerest form of flattery)
    And Lisa – You don’t look anything like that Palin woman. Be glad, be very glad. By the way, I heard her speak for the first time on the TV the other day. Thank God she won’t be on telly all the time.

  14. melinda says:

    You are looking like an authentic woman–unlike that substitute for humanity, Palin (whenever I saw her I’d remember Ak! Ak! from Mars Attacks!). Yes! Obama and Michelle are bringing back hope and sincerity!

    I’m still experiencing quiet ephoria, smiling, starting to paint again, starting to believe that we are not a doomed country.

    It’s a beautiful week.
    Best wishes for contented painting.

Leave a Reply

