3

By WR Jones


 

    That’s right 3 (THREE) count ’em.  Use your fingers so you don’t lose count.   Sometimes I, myself, drop a number when going from the 1 to the 2 without using my fingers.

    Now I have a serious series going here.   With only two paintings you could say you had a straight line but it is a stretch (I’m willing to make) to call it a series.   But when you have 3 – a horse of a different color as they say.   I think the word series is derived from the word serious meaning no nonsense here – head down, nose to the grindstone, get er done.

    Ya, the painting sucks, but it is still number 3.  A useable attribute of watercolor is that you can screw a painting up in no time and move on to an afternoon’s drinking.

    The downside to this flurry of painting activity on my part is that this may put the “Leaf Series” out of financial reach of many of my collectors.   The bidding activity has been hyper.  Counting the phone bids from mom the latest stands at $7 for the collection.  This is in USD which, I feel, gives an unfair advantage to those offering Euros.   I will hang up on those callers for the first person to offer me 4 vicodin for the lot (I have a throbbing headache from all this concentrated effort).

    YOUTH –

    I took a shower this morning after opening a new box of Olay soap.  The box stated this was “Age Defying” soap.  So, I’m wondering how defying.  Does it just drag its feet or does it slam it into reverse?

    I was thinking of posting a photo of me just out of the shower to see if you think I look younger.  But with so many holding their breath for number three, I felt there might be a mass die off if I didn’t post these leaves.

    Strangely, I did find myself skipping through the garage to the car.   And later on the freeway I had the urge to drive really fast.  At one point on the way to work, on that downhill section of the road, I had it up to 67 MPH.

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, Painting, Plein Air, Watercolor. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to 3

  1. 67 mph…you are such a hell raiser! Loved your post, as usual. Connie

  2. gypsy-heart says:

    I don’t know why you think it sucks. I like it.

    Okay we are even now..there pieces..three husbands. Now is your chance to pass me, because I am keeping this husband. :)

  3. wrjones says:

    Connie – I have always ran wild on the streets – just my nature.

    Gypsy-heart, thanks – let’s be honest here. Didn’t you say the same about the first two? Keep this one until you are entitled to half of everything he has then let’s run away and paint in Europe. I can feel those warm fluffy booties on my feet as we fly first class to Paris.

  4. carolking says:

    Holy Cannoli! You really do have a series!!!! Damn, I was going to bid on the two, but now that there’s three, well, this is waaaaaay out of my league. Did Mango pee on those leaves?

    You put me to shame…I’m still working on the SAME painting of leaves for weeks now. You are an inspiration to the art world.

  5. Lori says:

    I like it, it makes me think of wet grass that when I look really close are these little red spiders like rubies with black legs. They must be hiding behind the leaves. The name is cool too, when you have four leaves there, unless my weak math has gotten even weaker.

    My grandmother swore by oil of olay, she looked only 60 at age 98. All her friends told her that anyhow.

  6. Spot On!!…watercoloring and boozing go together. That’s why I do a lot of acrylic painting…unless i want a drink…it’s so so so (that’s three “so”s to honor your series, Bill!) easy to f–k up with h2o, but after a few tinis, who cares!!

    Vodka or gin?

  7. wrjones says:

    Carol – I was afraid of just that. As one of my favorite collectors with your walls filled with my work I wanted this to go to you. I know money is tight now but do you perhaps have 3 vicodin and a shot of Jim Beam? I’ll tell mom to take a hike if you and I can reach a deal.

    Lori – as long as ALL your friends tell you that and you don’t look in a mirror – it could work.

    David – both in a large glass.

  8. 100swallows says:

    Now that you have done your practice on those leaves, isn’t it time you embarked on a grand leaf-house painting–say, a four bedroom affair? Complete with kids playing and Main Street yards and houses in the background. You could get Lisa to help you fill all the empty spaces with leaves now that she’s had practice.

  9. Nava says:

    Obviously, that age defying Olay has also caused you to perform that impressive cheer-leading scissors kick on my blog. OK, OK – been busy, got a MAC – but now there’s a new post there.

    Wow – a series of three!!! who’d have thunk? And this painting doesn’t suck! It has some real cool texture – who said watercolor has to be pristine and pure?

  10. Kathleen says:

    “you can screw a painting up in no time and move on to an afternoon’s drinking.”
    this is the funniest thing I’ve heard all week. My aspiration is to combine the two and become a whiskey painter.
    Kathleen

  11. Susan says:

    Congratulations on #3. Is that your pumpkin up there on the header?

  12. Hey Bill….
    I think you have struck on a dual-idea… You could paint a picture of YOU getting out of the shower and use the leaves in the appropriate place(s) and sort of continue the series in a different vein.
    Brilliant, huh??

  13. Erika says:

    Funny post dad. I think you should go public with the painting series business, I hear the stock market is doing great!

  14. Miki says:

    As the mathematician I was before i became the painter I am now, I understand very well what happens to you when you count from 1 to 2. There is indeed an infinity of numbers in this gap… many of them broken numbers by the way, probably because most of the people, like you, drop them…
    What a wonderfully funny post!

  15. wrjones says:

    100swallows – I may have been subconciously competing with Lisa on this leaf business. I lost – bigtime.

    Oh my Lord, Nava, was I at your place when I did that cheerleader routine? Please destroy any video, I have a family to think about. I wonder if Carol paid me the vicodin/Jim Beam and I spent it all at once. I wonder if I sent her the painting before ending up in your blog. Hell, I wonder who I am, but luckily have it right here in my wallet.

    Kathleen – If you paint whiskey like I paint candy you are going to be shitfaced before laying out your colors.

    Susan – I guesss that is a pumpkin since you tell me that other bowl of stuff isn’t a pumpkin. However, it is not this year’s pumpkin piece. I have another 2 or 3 weekends to finish this year’s (which could perchance spill into 2011) orange ball work.

    Marian – That is a great idea. If I can get my hands on a pepper tree leaf that should satisfy any decency requirements so we can keep our Family rating.

    Erika – aren’t you supposed to be studying? I walked past a Linens and Things going out of business yesterday. Then, a little further on, I went through a Mervyn’s going out of business; it was depressing. Suddenly I thought, “Wait a minute here, I’m a glass half full type of guy. Look at the bright side. With you and your mother roaming free, Tiffanys and Saks have no worries. The economy will be booming again in no time.”

    Miki – I have been dropping numbers for a long time. I bet the school kids hate me for creating all those fractures. I was always pretty good in school and never had no trouble doing English or calculating fractures in math class.

  16. grfxho says:

    Does your wife know you’re using up her Oil of Olay soap? That stuff isn’t cheap, you know.

  17. wrjones says:

    grfxho, Hell no, she doesn’t know. I dry the bar after use and put it back in the box, refasting the lid with some Elmer’s white glue. I may have a problem in that I used so much to get even younger that I erased the OLAY on the bar. I think when I carved it back in with my knife I misspelled it as YOLA – I wonder if she will notice. I think I will go home and remove the bulbs from the bathroom fixtures. I’ll tell her it is more romantic to shower in the dark. She may mention the bar seems a little small – I’ll reply those greedy rat soap makers are shorting us.

  18. kimiam says:

    Bill, $7.10 and half a bottle of cough syrup for the leaves. I must have them.

  19. wrjones says:

    Kimiam – sweet! I will sleep like a baby tonight with this deal in the bag. When I frame and ship at my expense this will be my smallest loss ever on a sale. Most people make me send them something else of known value before they will accept a painting.

    We are talking AGED cough syrup, right?

  20. carolking says:

    $7.10 and a HALF bottle of cough medicine! Damn, I can’t top that. All I was going to bid was $5.00 and half a xanax.

    I’ll be more savvy next time when you do your holiday series of snowballs in the snow.

  21. wrjones says:

    I’ve got a serious case of seller’
    s remorse. I think if I had any backbone at all I could have held out for $7.75.

    Carol, I think I will drive to NYC to do a comissioned piece for you. With gas and hotel I will have to get $5.25 and some Halloween candy for the New York leaf of your choice.

  22. “you can screw a painting up in no time and move on to an afternoon’s drinking.” Yep…..My thinking exactly!!! But then again I drink when I watch debates…sports….or just for the hell of it…67 miles an hour?…find a new soap!

  23. bonnieluria says:

    Damn, all the good comments were taken by everyone else.
    So I’m not original in loving the ” screwing up a painting and moving on to an afternoons’ drinking”.

    I’m excused.
    I’ve been without power, internet, phone for a week post Hurricane Omar.
    I’m back now, and will aim for originality.
    It’s catch up I’m aiming for now.

  24. wrjones says:

    Theresa – do you think I was driving too fast? It was scary. I don’t think I can do it again without drinking to calm my nerves. Oh well, you gotta do what you gotta do.

    Bonnie – sorry to hear of your very difficult problems.
    Glad to have you back online and back painting I hope. You are one of the most original I know.

  25. Wow what a fan club you have, Bill. I’m happy for you that you got what you wanted for that painting, although I agree you should’ve held out for more. But hey when you have a buyer sometimes it’s best to go with the offer.

    It’s a nice painting, I must say… and worth more than you got.

  26. wrjones says:

    Thanks, Diana. However, I’m over the remorse and happy with the deal I struck with Kimiam. That was quality cough syrup.

  27. Pingback: Hey All! Miss Me? « A Little Bit o’ Everything!

  28. Barbara says:

    What an amazing drawing — so intense, so detailed —
    such a huge mood with the little boy set against the bank of leaves. I didn’t understand why you had to
    draw every leaf, but now I get it. Just out of this world fantastic.

  29. wrjones says:

    Barbara – you have lost control of your mouse. You are commenting in the wrong place (I think) otherwise you are on some drugs that you and I should be sharing.

    You probably are refering to Lisa’s large drawing of the boy standing next to a window. Still, no reason for you to wander off. Stay here where we can smoke together.

  30. Pingback: Beach breezes, breaking waves « Carolking’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

