Because It’s My Party…

       Several of our readers expressed an interest in seeing my largish drawing as it develops. Below is the most recent picture I have. I have to tell you, something about the digitization of the image makes it look very rough and disconcerting, so be nice. Aside from the unfinished areas, there is a lot of tweaking of values and smoothing of areas that has to be done.

       One reader, Marian, seemed perplexed as to why I would undertake this painful venture (judging from my astute and detailed explanations of my aching back) asking me to explain myself; is it a commission, am I doing it because I have a specific place to hang it on my wall, did an agent want me to do it to sell, etc.

       I am doing this because it is one of a series of drawings that I hope to do an exhibition with some day when I grow up and before I am old and gray. I am doing this because if I paint another saccharin flower I may puke. I am doing this because no one expects me to. I am doing this because I WANT TO.

       I have wanted to create this image for a very long time. It derives in part from a photograph I took in Anne Frank’s annex in Amsterdam years ago.

       So there. Thanks for asking Marian. I got that off my chest, and I can go play tennis now before I get back to drawing and making my damn back hurt.

This entry was posted in Drawing, On Suffering. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Because It’s My Party…

  1. I can totally agree with you…sometimes enough with the f–king florals!…time to do something different and totally satisfying for one’s soul. Looks like you have a great start for your future show, Lisa. Check out my “Dark Visions” post on Aug. 15. In a small way (maybe this is a wee bit of a stretch), your drawing is similar to my painting.

  2. Bravo for doing just because you want to – there’s no better reason.
    One of the lowest points in my tiny little career was when a woman commissioned a landscape, which I was happy to do until…
    The next day when she brought me a cushion from her sofa and asked me to match the colors…

  3. Nava says:

    …and that’s the best reason to paint (or draw) something – ‘coz you WANT TO!

    I myself am yet to paint sweet blushing flowers. They never really speak to me (and, if a flower ever did speak to me, I’d be sure to go see a psychiatrist!), and I recall with fondness something that one painter (who does glorious figurative paintings, very loaded emotionally) said “I don’t see myself painting a flower; and if I did, it would probably have a bee in it”.

    This is going to be a stunner. Though we can’t see the large image of it (why of why?), it’s already very moody and moving and compelling. Watch that back of yours, though.

  4. Irit says:

    You are too funny LOL.
    Watch your back.

  5. ivdanu says:

    I`m totally with you Lisa! your drawing seems to `become`quite well and it is a very interesting composition… Light could be sometimes better express in black and white and I remember having seen some superb Seurat drawing with just the paper white and the deep black (and the infinite grey nuances) of a – I think – a graphite pencil… For him I think they were light studies but I don`t see why you cannot do a masterpiece… I can also understand your totally justified evasion from your `routine`, a think each true artist HAS to get out more often than once…

  6. 01varvara says:

    Hmm… to put colour in it would ruin the minimalistic effect. In fact, it looks very nice indeed “incomplete”. Were you to show it now, it could grab people just by its starkness. I am thinking of a painting by the famous Russian contemporary painter, Dmitri Belyukin, “Old Church… New Church”. The detail is kept to a savage minimum and it grabs you by the gut. Don’t be tempted to “improve” it. In this case, less is more.

    Well done.

    Cheers,

    Vara

  7. It’s coming along swimmingly, looks like! You go Girl.

    Yesterday I took a new bunch of paintings to one of my local galleries. The owner looked at one in particular for a long time (a miniature of a cherry in a glass of iced tea). She said she liked it a lot and then asked why I painted it.

    Why? Gee why do I paint anything? Because it’s there, it calls to me, it challenges me… Because I like the way the sweat on the glass looks and want to see if I can paint it… Because I want to save the moment… Because the light on that cloud, or that tree, or that face is so beautiful I want it to last longer than a few minutes.

    Artists are funny that way.

  8. Anjolie says:

    Well, I rather like the little chap standing by the window (?)…

    And I too dislike giving reasons for my creative process. I finally explained it to someone very close to me (who just wasn’t getting it) this way:

    “If I don’t paint, I’m going to go crazy.”

    That seemed to do the trick. :)

  9. Jeez… I was JUST WONDERING!…
    I paint what I feel like painting (at least I try to), but you seemed to be killing yourself over it so I figured there must be some really compelling reason… Okay.. I get it…. you really wanted to do it!

    I really do like the different perspective on the world that you have chosen to use. Very dramatic! It’s interesting, isn’t it, how we all choose to portray how we see things? I see many paintings that I really like where the artist has gone up very close to a subject and others (like this one) where the artist has painted from an unusual angle. I think it makes the painting / drawing more interesting… yet I rarely do it. Hmmmmm guess I’m going to have to think about that… hmmmm… Maybe you’ve inspired me (yet again).
    I can dream.
    I’m looking forward to seeing more of the “stages”. Thanks, Lisa, … be well.

  10. lbtowers says:

    I wasn’t yelling at you Marian.

    And thank you all for your support. I am having one HECK of a time with drawing what is outside the window, and have done many many studies for it so far. This cheering section helps egg me on.

    I would like to pause here for a moment of silence for the “blushing flower”. I think we have all been very unfair to Mother Nature’s crown jewels.

  11. Melinda says:

    Go forth and fulfill your goal! We will continue to cheer you on. I’m having the same ‘dialogue’ with a painting that’s over five feet wide and four feet tall…about the Grand Canyon…Somedays I feel like jumping…on top of the canvas and stomping on it.

  12. Mona says:

    Hilarious post (and it looks nice so far). Anything that makes you forget our aching back is worth it. Party on……..

  13. The scale is wonderful. Wow. It’s really big. And how neat seeing the studio in the background! Very fabulous.

Leave a Reply

