My Budding Landscape Painters

by Lisa

       My Wednesday morning class continued on with their impressionist paintings this week from what they had started last week. One student suggested that I have everything written out because it was so confusing with the first notes and the second notes, and the sun lit planes, and the cool planes. She was absolutely right except that normally I have Lois Griffel’s book on hand which I refer the students to when they are confused. THAT was my mistake. I cannot find that book, and instead of running out and buying a new one, I suffered through the consequences. I would like to say, in my defense, that if every student showed up on the first day at the same time (class begins at 9:00 people-refer to #12 on Lisa’s List of Pet Peeves) to hear my initial explanation and we all took it step by step together it would not be as confusing. Damn that Lois Griffel though. She had to go creating this whole complicated systematic approach that I insist on trying to teach.

       Here you see a few of my students doing the exercise trying to minimize their discomfort in three digit temperatures. Notice where they are standing. And they did keep moving with the sun. I think we’re going to try some cacti in Death Valley next.

This entry was posted in Art Instruction, Landscape, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Budding Landscape Painters

  1. Dianne Mize says:

    Here’s my take. Stop teaching and paint.

  2. wrjones says:

    Yes, Dianne, she should stop teaching and whining. You look like a little cog wheel. Did you fall out of a clock?

  3. lori says:

    I have Lois Griffel’s book too, I tried to make some sense out of it a few years ago,and couldn’t. Figured the time wasn’t right with my head or something, I’ll have to dig it up again and see if it makes more sense now.

    But aren’t you supposed to L@@k at the the little blocks? I see none of the students are.

    I would be awful in your class, I would be painting that interesting chocolate and white colored house in the back with the tall cypress and round tree.

  4. wrjones says:

    Lori, you can ignore her and paint what you want, I do.

  5. lori says:

    Yah Bill, I agree with ignoring her, I still haven’t opened her book again after goodness knows how long. I have the happy task of painting a dead dog from a bad photo this week, whoohoo!

  6. wrjones says:

    Lori – if you want, I will shoot the neighbor’s dog and you can paint from life, er, death instead of that photo.

    Happy to be of assistance.

  7. lori says:

    Aw gee Thanks Bill, I’ll keep it in mind if I need another dead dog sometime. I have managed to just about complete the painting and Harley the dead dog has been metaphorically brought back to life. My painting looks much more life-like than the original photo if I do say so myself. That isn’t saying much because the photo is so awful.

    Hey, do you all need any commissions? I received an email inquiry. The person wants a painting thats 9 feet long and 3.50 feet wide. He will pay the magnificent sum of $100. I think he may want some palm trees and sailboats.

Leave a Reply

