Cezanne vs Unger

By Lisa

   

    This week in my class, I gave my more advanced students the task of copying a masterwork. I think this is a very good exercise to do from time to time, and helps you get inside the thinking process of the artist you are copying.

      This exercise was done in both my Wednesday classes, and several of the students asked if I wanted them to copy the masterwork “exactly”. Owing to my propensity for sarcasm, I fought hard not to respond with answers like “No. Why don’t you apply your 6 months worth of knowledge excluding Thursdays through Tuesdays, to that masterwork and see if you can’t improve on it”.

      And now a challenge, and promise me you won’t cheat. One of the above was painted by Joanne Unger, and I would like you all to spot the real vs the copy. She not only did an exceptional job on it, but she did it in record time. Joanne paints everything in record time. In fact, I swear to God she paints in a vacuum. I come into the room and BOOM, she is halfway done before we even start. Maybe she rubs on my genie pot when I’m not looking.

This entry was posted in Art Instruction, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cezanne vs Unger

  1. Pat Meyer says:

    Thank you so much for your kind comments. Pat

  2. lbtowers says:

    Am I missing something Pat?

  3. Dianne Mize says:

    I guessing the one of the left is Cezanne. The vase looks like other vases of his, green not bluish and wider at the rim, but I admit I guessing.

  4. bonnieluria says:

    My guess too is the left one but the copy is excellent.It seems there’s just a bit more of a subtle color play on the reflection of the vase and its’ overall shape.
    Or I could be blowing hot wind.
    Fun post after the natural breast carving.

  5. Robert Stein says:

    Genius is rare and JoAnn has it.

  6. Julia stein says:

    I’m guessing the left original but I would hang the right in my house anytime.

  7. Helen Zapata says:

    Ah, the left looks like Cezanne to me. They look like his apples. But both paintings are lovely!

Leave a Reply

