Different Strokes

by Lisa

Charcoal drawing of Shivdev

I was falling asleep to a David Leffel video last night (I kid David–I love him), and in my state of half awareness, I recall him droning about what kind of person strikes your fancy as someone you would like to paint. He said you may like someone with deep set eyes or not, his point being — well I’m not sure but bear with me here. David himself is lucky in that he is a great subject, and gets to do wonderful self portraits. I am not a great subject and it pisses me off. I wish I looked like David. But I cannot put a Rembrandt beret on my head and a palette in my hand and pull it off. Just doesn’t work for me. I have a pretty good right bicep, but I am right handed and would have trouble posing that gun and an arm does not a portrait make. 

Great models are not necessarily beautiful people though sometimes they do make great subjects. It could be a Smokey Mountain inbred that strikes your fancy. It could be a Russian bathroom attendant (yes, I asked one to pose for me right there in a Moscow bathroom once. I think she thought I was a little crazy or the KGB or something with all the pictures I was taking). Or it could just be someone with a great hat (see above). Shivdev qualified on two fronts because he has a great face of hair as well. Robert Henri obviously liked a young boy with horribly bucked teeth. Different strokes for different folks takes on literal meaning. I think that’s what David was saying. It just took him about 20 minutes to say it. I should offer to be his interpreter on his next painting video.

This entry was posted in Drawing, Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Different Strokes

  1. wrjones says:

    Very strong drawing. I’m waiting to see the Russian bathroom lady.

  2. Carol King says:

    what a fabulous portrait!

  3. Gosh, Lisa, this is wonderful! (Of course!) What is great about Shivdev is not just his hat but his spirit … the life that he exhudes each time he’s present. You captured that… His self contained, self assured pride in being Shivdev.

  4. lbtowers says:

    Thanks you guys. It seemed only fitting to portray Shivdev from an angle where you would look up at him. I wish I could say I had done this from life, but he is too busy a guy to sit still that long. It was done from a photo. Ouch.

  5. gypsy-heart says:

    I agree with Bill very strong drawing!

    “Great models are not necessarily beautiful people though sometimes they do make great subjects.”

    I so agree with that sometimes beautiful is boring. :)

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Ps I thought I saw a hint of “David Leffel” in your still life’s. :)

  6. I agree that this is a strong drawing … it’s just that he looks so familiar … like he just stepped out of the pages of a history book!

Leave a Reply

