The Value of a Good Disclaimer

by Lisa

In the comments to my last post, Bill, concerned blog partner that he is, made me think long and hard about something when he said: I think we owe it to our readers not to overhype the difficulty of a painting.  I’m just not sure if I can agree with this.

I have written about the disclaimers I use while doing demos, but there are more generic ones that come in handy for all painting tasks, no matter the end result. As a working artist, and one with neurosis, a good disclaimer can mean the difference between being able to paint, or spending a week on thorazine at the funny farm. Without an out, a painter like me can be a caged and testy chick, and if it’s a certain time of the month…lookout. 

 Take for instance, this little study I did outside recently. Watch how well this works:

     For this study that I did in the forbidding desert, with winds whipping at 40 knots, and bones from a dead animal scattered about me leaving me to wonder if I was next, where I had forgotten to bring sunblock conjuring fear of melanoma and pork-rind ears, where beetle-like bugs kept landing on me making me shriek and jump like something out of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, where cars kept driving by on the dirt road blanketing me in a cloud of dust leaving me with a hacking cough and looking like a raccoon, where I had forgotten drinking water and had only hand washing water leaving me parched and seeing mirages of Bill, dressed like Colonel Sanders, drinking pina coladas with hotel maids around a nearby pond…it is a wonder that I got a recognizable image at all.

desert_study.jpg

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, On Suffering, Painting, Plein Air, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Value of a Good Disclaimer

  1. Oh please don’t drop the disclaimers! They’re the best part.

  2. 100swallows says:

    A nice study, Lisa, Glad you held out. Actually, you make what you didn’t put into that picture sound as cool as what you did. Now I miss the cloud of dust, the swarm of bugs, the animal bones. Maybe even a self-portrait of the artist as a clown.

  3. I like it….very much. Interesting how your colors illustrate your longing for cool shade and water.

Leave a Reply

