The Elephant in The Room

This week has been a very intense week of painting with this floral still life. It is the most complicated floral I have ever done. Not the biggest, but the most  complicated. I fluctuate between hating it and loving it. It is the elephant in the room. You can’t help but to look at it, but I’m not sure if it is because you want to or have to.  I will continue to tweak it for the next week, and I am also looking for a butterfly to put in it to drive the ‘Dutch floral still life’ theme home. Here it is about halfway done.

dutchfloral.jpg

After having spent a day shopping for and stealing flowers from every bed, yard, and park for this still life last week, I cannot stop looking at them everywhere I go. You get in the mode, and your brain does not turn off. Wildflowers abound everywhere right now teasing me and calling my name. “Pick me and immortalize me in your next Liberace still life”, they cry.

TIP FOR THE DAY: For this still life I had wired my tulips shut so they would not keep changing on me. However, I learned that I did not need to. If you do not put tulips in water, they stay alive, but will not open. A boon for the still life painter I assure you.  

This entry was posted in Still Life, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Elephant in The Room

  1. 100swallows says:

    It’s looking awfully good, Lisa. What are those other flowers in your studio–discarded options? Emergency replacements? Your usual house decoration?

  2. Carol King says:

    Wow, what an endeavor! It looks great so far! I would have been afraid of trying something that big.

    Can’t wait to see it completed.

  3. lbtowers says:

    Trust me I had emergency replacement flowers, different ones to change the color scheme, bigger ones, littler ones, flowers that droop, flowers that don’t, busy flowers, simple flowers, leaves of different textures including edible greens, and on and on. You don’t even see all the extra flowers I had here. My studio was a MESS.

  4. This painting is looking fabulous! And, is that the cabinet from your yard sale excursions? I LOVE the bright and colorful flower scheme. Great job, can’t wait to see a LARGE SIZE IMAGE placed on your blog! :D

  5. Fabulous! I know what you mean when you say it stays in your head. Your work is incredible. It’s hard to believe that you have to change flowers and replace them…. What a task you’ve set for yourself…. It appears that you’re really up to it! I’d love to see the finished product in real life. Great job!

  6. wrjones says:

    I think we owe it to our readers not to overhype the difficulty of a painting. We engineers are expert at exaggerating the work to complete a project. This is to cover our ass for the inevitable schedule slip of from months to years.

    This painting, based on my experience, should be a piece of cake. Reference my recent painting of a tulip. This 9in x 12in behometh took me less than a week of 12 hour days.

  7. Pingback: The Value of a Good Disclaimer « On Painting

  8. Ron Cohen says:

    Hey Lisa – Maybe the universe was trying to tell you that bird crap that landed on you is a better white than the Robert Doaks lead white you just bought.

Leave a Reply

