The Luster of Pearl Lustre

by Lisa

Bill is out of town again, and I am left with the blog responsibility weighing heavily upon my shoulders as usual. I thought he would be able to post yesterday morning, and then THIS morning, but he has some lame excuse like he’s busy earning money and can’t get to it. A certain somebody I know even scolded me the other day for not posting DAILY. Geez. The pressure.  So here goes, but I want no complaining that I have no pretty pictures to show you.

I will tell you that yesterday, I finally cracked into my supplies of mysterious painting chemicals from Mr. Doak. When I went to open the container of “Bright Lustre Pearl” powder that is supposed to be mixed into the Flemish white, a plume of sparkling dust shot into the air and the word did issue from lips “Leonardo”. It settled on everything nearby including my lungs and my hand looked like a veritable pearl itself. I tried it out and painted the fleshtone of a little study I did of a woman, completely white. When it dries I will add fleshtone and see if I can make her glow like a good Renaissance woman. What am I saying? I don’t know if they even had freakin’ “Pearl Powder” back then, but the “Flemish White” part sounds good. I’ll keep you posted on my results.

And that’s all I have for you today. Now leave me alone so I can go paint and have a pretty picture to show you next time.

This entry was posted in Supplies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Luster of Pearl Lustre

  1. I don’t mean to sound like an alarmist, Lisa, but I think you need to be careful with that pearl powder. I believe, anyway, that it can be a health hazard.

    Looking forward to seeing some images again!

  2. lbtowers says:

    You mean I shouldn’t have stirred it into my coffee?

  3. Yeah, and don’t smoke it (or inhale its lovely scent)!

  4. lbtowers says:

    I will say at night, I glow like a beautiful sea flourescent now.

Leave a Reply

