Lost

By W R Jones

snow.jpg

     I really should not be allowed out of the house without a GPS.  I have absolutely no sense of direction, there are those that might say no sense of any kind, I know.

     A couple of examples come to mind.   I once worked for a week in Washington DC going from the same hotel to the Pentagon and back every day.  Every SINGLE day of that week I got lost in both directions.  Each day I would start out feeling confident that I had it now.  Not getting lost this trip.  A most painful memory of that trip is when someone from a Navy base in California flew in on Friday to stay at the same hotel and ride together to a meeting.    I laughingly told her how I had been lost every day but not to worry, I was good to go.  What the devil,  when I admitted defeat and got out of the car to once again ask for a directional update, I was told I was not even in the correct state.

    There was also that time I fell asleep on a Greyhound bus and slept past my stop and on into another state.  I was so confused when I woke up and got off the bus.  Where am I?  What happened here?

    I left the house to do a beach/ocean plein air piece, and as you might determine from the painting, missed.  Let me tell you something, standing in the snow in sandals and speedos is downright unpleasant.  I painted as fast as I could.  A car load of teenagers stopped to tell me, “You’re not from around here are you?”  No shit.

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, Painting, Plein Air, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lost

  1. thomasvickers says:

    How do you read one of those things. I am directionally-retarded! I lived in Charlotte, NC for 20+ years and I swear you can stand on the corner of Queens & Queens in 2 places. It was a very disturbing part of my life!!!…thank you tomvickers@suddenlink.net

  2. Bill Sharp says:

    Nice painting, especially under the circumstances.

  3. wrjones says:

    Thanks Bill – I’m not leaving the house in my speedos again.

    Well, luckily Thomas, you don’t have to read them. A voice tells you to turn right on Main street. However, they do lead you astray sometimes. I was looking for a grocery store this morning
    and the little wench took me to a Best Buy instead. I guess she wanted a big screen TV.

  4. I love your stories but, in this case, I think I can “match” yours. Many years back, I went to an art exhibit in Easton, Maryland but stayed in a hotel in Annapolis. I was so lost there. Finally, I pulled into what I thought was my hotel only to realize it was the Naval Academy! :oops:

    I’ve gotta say, though, I really love your plein air pieces. They’re beautiful!

  5. wrjones says:

    Nice try Janet, but I don’t think you can match my penchant for lostness. I left out the part about when I first arrived in the Washington area. I drove from the airport to the hotel. There I was told I did not have a reservation and they were booked. I argued that I absolutely did have a reservation made by the government. They said I absolutely did not but they would would help me find a room. After several calls they said I was correct in thinking I did have a reservation at their hotel but it was at their hotel in another city.

  6. 100swallows says:

    That’s a nice painting, Bill. There’s nothing like the beach. Why is everyone’s towel white?

  7. wrjones says:

    They took them from the gym like I do. But be careful those gym towels are very linty.

  8. gypsy-heart says:

    I love the energy of the painting and your story.

    If in this life time we somehow end up plein air painting together we will have to hire a guide…because I am pitiful with directions too!
    Hey we can let the guide lug everything too!!

  9. wrjones says:

    Gypsy – we will just stay lost. We can paint and write poetry until someone finds us.

Leave a Reply

