An Evil Wind Blows

by Lisa

wild-flowers-in-california-mountians.jpg

I painted this in ’03 en plein air (in the open air). I don’t particularly like to go painting alone (in case a grasshopper hits me, and I need resuscitation), but on that day, I trekked up the side of a nearby hill, and set up shop. It was a beautiful day as you see, in fact, so beautiful that I had sent my son to school not feeling well, determined that I was going to paint, and a little pneumonia wasn’t going to stop me from creating a masterpiece.

It was all going swimmingly, and I was pretty much to the point you see here, when suddenly an evil little wind picked up. Just as I was concluding I might need to pack it in, a gust hit me whisking my plastic bag full of dirty rags away. I managed to stomp on it with my foot about a yard from my easel. That’s when the easel began to blow over on me threatening to make me wear my new landscape. I grabbed it in the nick of time still holding down the plastic bag. That’s when the palette started to go. I was able to switch one hand from the easel to the palette, but that’s when my cell phone rang.  Don’t forget my son was at school sick. I had to answer the phone or win the Bad Mommy Award. I must have looked like I was playing the game Twister. Although the view I painted was devoid of homes, there was an entire neighborhood behind and below me. I imagined people standing there at their backdoors, coffee cup in hand, going “hey, get a load of THIS”. What fun the people must have had at my expense. For the longest time I expected to show up on America’s funniest home videos. By the way, it was not my son calling, but rather the bank calling to talk about a loan application.

Me and plein air painting got a ways to go.

This entry was posted in Landscape, Plein Air. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Evil Wind Blows

  1. kevmoore says:

    I sense you are on the brink of combining plein air painting and break dancing. an astounding, if uneccesary, first.

  2. wrjones says:

    I can’t tell you how proud I am you would abandon a sick child to go painting. That is the kind of dedication to art so admired by the world. Now, like Gauguin, you should leave your family and start whining about how rough you have it. Anyway you have a headstart on the whinning part.

  3. Marian says:

    You know when you read things like that that they are even funnier when they hit close to our own experiences!! (I haven’t returned to the poppy fields since I came back with sand and gnats embedded in my lovely landscape.) I was laughing as I read it… one of the reasons, by the way that I enjoy reading your blog! I laughed even more at the comments your “friends” have made!!
    Keep on painting. Glad your child made it through the day too!

  4. firefly8868 says:

    That’s a terrific story. Usually when someone mentions “plein air” I think people get this very cool image in their mind of the romance of a talented artist painting effortlessly out in the open air. Your story is heart warming and so very real.

    Thanks for bringing it to earth where it belongs!

    Warm wishes,
    JL Fleckenstein

  5. killerbrush says:

    I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who has this sort of thing happen. Nature hates me.

  6. How descriptive! Now I can see in my mind’s eye the development of this piece in its outdoor studio.

Leave a Reply

