Relentless Intrusion

By W.R. Jones

leaningonthechair.jpg

   She is turning her back on this world of relentless intrusion.

   I stopped to get gas at the Shell station this morning.  After swiping my card, entering my zip code, and selecting the octane level, a TV over the pump came on.  I heard something like “NBC at the pump.  Isn’t getting gas more fun now?”  Are you shitting me?  There was 15 seconds of weather forcast that is available numerous other places; then the ads began.

   Really, listening to  ads while pumping gas jump starts my day.  What sales genius came up with this idea? 

   I can see the logical extension of this business model.  The “walk along” or “keep you company all day” campaign where you get streaming ads on your cell phone whether you want them or not.  The phone, “Hey, while you are waiting for your friend to pick up this call, take a look at this bluetooth ear piece.  You look very out of date holding that phone to your ear.”    Or, “I see you are taking a pee, press 5 to view some penile enhancers at a discount.”

   With a DVR it is more apparent just how many ads are shown during a normal TV program.   I suppose it may be the DVR, allowing us to skip over the blather, that has led to them seeking us out at the pump. 

This entry was posted in On Suffering, Painting, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Relentless Intrusion

  1. gypsy-heart says:

    I like this piece..the composition and the rendering!

    Of course, you made me laugh again!! I swear you could have a stand up comic / painting show..it would have to be on HBO or something similar because of the ratings!

    I don’t always comment here..I am just not witty or quick enough.
    Maybe I’ll just start leaving this :O so you will know I stopped by. :)

  2. wrjones says:

    Thanks, Gypsy.

    Usually the models won’t let me behind them when I’ve been drinking. This young woman was new. It’s not that I pose any danger to them, but I get these ripples in my brain wave that causes the painting arm to fly up splattering paint everywhere.

    Sometimes the brush leaves my hand for a short flight. It once landed in Lisa’s coffee mug. Luckily for me she was out of the room at the time. I suppose I should have mentioned it to her.

    The back of the model’s neck and her shirt seem clean enough; this must have been one of my better days.

  3. gypsy-heart says:

    Like I said..HBO or Cinemax!

    :O

  4. Anna Surface says:

    Lovely painting… cool colors… and lets one’s imagination explore.

    LOL I cracked up reading this. A great laugh for starting the day. Ads at the pump? Well, the west coast is ahead of us in the midwest. I get really tired of blaring music and televisions in the stores hanging right over one’s head no matter where one is at. Yack, yack, yack… Even outside… Good grief! It rattles the brain, I tell ya. :)

  5. carolking says:

    great painting.

    Cracked up at this: “I see you are taking a pee, press 5 to view some penile enhancers at a discount.”

    Wouldn’t be surprised if it was a reality soon!

  6. That does it! I’m going to come here for my comic relief each day. Can you keep it up? Oh, I mean the humor, not the. . .

  7. wrjones says:

    Thanks, for stopping by, GH, Anna, Carol and Susan. I think I’m set as there are drugs for keeping everything up. I know this, not because I sought out the information, but because of the relentless intrusion. Hold on, my cell is ringing,…, if I act now I can get a SPECIAL deal. If this keeps up I will be buried with a woody.

Leave a Reply

