Breasts Of Clay

By WR Jones

claylady.jpg

     When the R&D department secretary came into my office a few days ago – Ok, it’s not an office, it is a cubicle; not a big cubicle, but I can fit both feet within the lines if I scrunch up, she took one look at this painting and, “IS SHE NAKED?”  Imagine this in a shrill screech.  I told her it was a clay statue to keep her from fainting.  She carefully backed out keeping her dubious looking eyes on me every step.

    I lead the real life of Dilbert the engineer.

    What should I name this painting in order to increase the odds of a sale?  As it normally stands there are two chances for me to make money from a painting; slim and none.

    The title of a painting is important.  You can argue that it should not be, the image should stand on its own.  However, a title can help set the mood the work is viewed in.  On a painting trip to Macinaw Island I was staying at a hotel owned by a painter.   He was showing me his work that hung on one wall, and told the story of a prospective buyer of one painting.  He said she told him she wanted to buy the painting and asked what the title was.  He had some smart aleck name for the piece and when he told her she said she could never own a painting with such a name and walked away. 

This entry was posted in Painting, Still Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Breasts Of Clay

  1. Carol King says:

    How about calling it NAKED WOMAN? It seemed to illicit a response from the screechy secretary. And I will bet a ton of money she doesn’t own any art!

    Good luck with the sale of your piece.

  2. Carol King says:

    Sorry, I have a really bad bronchial infection laryngitis and it’s affecting my spelling.

    I meant elicit, not illicit. Although that mistake did make me laugh.

  3. wrjones says:

    That is an excellent mistake and led my mind right down an illicit path.

  4. Anna Surface says:

    Well, the woman in the painting has a ‘Dare You’ look and stance to her. Do you just see my clay breasts or do you see all of me, huh? She is only half naked…so, what is the dare in that? And to show breasts so openely? To Dare is to have guts. :)

  5. Anna Surface says:

    Ehh… a typo! Not openely (that looks odd) openly. Candidly. Frankly. Dare to have guts. Hmm… Don’t mind me… LOL :)

  6. wrjones says:

    Typo or not, an interesting interpretation of attitude. You should be a writer as well as photographer, but do get a spell checkere.

  7. Susan says:

    “Draped Naked.” or Naked attitude or Nude Attitude, there you go! THat will make it sell or is this the one you already sold for $7

  8. wrjones says:

    Thanks, I think with “Nude Attitude” I can ask for $17.

Leave a Reply

