The Art of the Painting Demonstration

by Lisa

demo.jpg

Me doing a demo

I have to do a painting demonstration this morning. I am always a bit on edge for this procedure although I have done it many many times. The key is careful preparation. I like to have on hand:

–  lox, bagels, cream cheese, latkes, souffles, omelet bar, freshly roasted coffee,  grits, country ham, gravy and biscuits, freshly squeezed orange juice, waffles, pancakes, hash browns, and bacon

– more than one canvas in case I suddenly go spastic and blur the first attempt beyond recognition

– drugs

– absinthe

– a TV broadcasting election results (I’m hoping for a rousing mix of extreme liberals, and hard rights)

– tap shoes 

– rosary

– knife for my side, and nail for my coffin

– tape for Ron’s mouth (and DEFINITELY a quaalude for him )

– white flag

– jugglers

– Bill

– dog and pony

– 3-D glasses

– aroma of hydrogen sulfide

– swing music

– flares

It’s a little tricky to gather this all up, but in the end my nerves are thankful for the back-up plan.  The painting demonstration is not for the faint at heart.

I feel a fever coming on.

This entry was posted in Art Instruction, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Art of the Painting Demonstration

  1. kevmoore says:

    Well, you know what they say….
    Absinthe makes the heart grow fonder….

  2. Alexander says:

    How exciting. It must be fun!
    You looked like you have prepared well.
    :)

  3. gypsy-heart says:

    You go girl!
    I would have to demonstrate after noon so I could add a couple of glases of wine to the list.
    I always say teaching is a gift..one I did not receive!!

  4. wrjones says:

    Hey, gypsy, you are an artist, you can drink before lunch.

Leave a Reply

