Call the Wambulance

by Lisa 

There are certain standard disclaimers that I just adore from my students. Here are a few:

– I know. I was going to do that (translation: I screwed it up because I didn’t have a clue, but I want you to believe I did.)

– I’m just not getting this today (translation: normally I do, but because you are not helping me as much today, things are going haywire.)

– I’m having trouble painting at home (translation: you are not at my home.)

– Yeah, I just haven’t gotten new brushes yet (translation: if I do then you’ll expect me to paint better.)

When they stop with the excuses, and embrace their greenery, then they are guideable. Otherwise they are exhausting, and I have to wade through the mud to get to the grassy knoll.

This entry was posted in Art Instruction, Painting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Call the Wambulance

  1. 01varvara says:

    Bill… you just have to get in the trenches and slog it out. I do that all the time. I am NOT an expert on art, nor am I a trained translator, but, in order to get some things out to a wider audience, I had to put on my “grubbies” and make TONS of mistakes. Yes… my mistakes are “my own”, no one else did them…. yet, without them, I would not have learned as much.

    I would say that you are glad when a student makes mistakes… not excuses!

    muddied, but, still hanging in there,

    Vara the irrepressible

    (Bill… you are closer to the jug than I am… shall you pass it over, please? …that was was a healthy snort, sir… save some for me!)

  2. lbtowers says:

    Vara??? That was my post. Have you had tee many martooni’s?

    Lisa

  3. 01varvara says:

    I didn’t look at the author until it was too late… too many martonnis? Hmm… check back with me later… I have some SERIOUS RESEARCH to do! (Nicky! Pour me ‘nother. Lisa just called me a rummy… :-) …Salute! Oh, that goes for you too, dear, Lisa…)

    Vara

  4. lbtowers says:

    Vara do we have to splain everything to you? “tee many martoonis”, sounds like a drunk saying too many martinis (got it from one of my favorite comedies “Bedazzled”.)

  5. grfxho says:

    “I’m not as think as you drunk I am, Ociffer” is another favorite of mine.

Leave a Reply

