-3, Windchill -24

By W.R. Jones

blue-wool-post.jpg

    I watched the Green Bay Packers, New York Giants football game yesterday.  The temperature was -3.   If they asked me to play outdoors in that weather I would tell the coach to kiss my patootie.  If they want me to play in Arizona that will probably be alright as long as it is not raining and not too hot.  Ah, screw it, I think I will just hang up my cleats.

    Looking at those players in that cold made me scramble for my long underwear.  I tried to guesstimate the number of idiots watching the game from the stands.  One would think if they were such diehard football fans they would know by now you can watch the game MUCH better from the comfort of your home.  Maybe it was a crowd of the local homeless population.

    I watched the quarterback warming his nose with one of those bags you expose to air to activate a reaction that gives heat for about 10 hours.   I took two of those bags on our walk yesterday. 

    When we started the walk it was 36 degrees.  As we left the house I had the feeling that we had been transported to northern Montana but it looked just like our block. 

    My wife didn’t think the bags worked.  She didn’t know you had to keep them covered.  By the time she got hers warm it was 60 outside and not of much use.    I love California.

This entry was posted in Landscape, On Suffering, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to -3, Windchill -24

  1. It looks like snow on the ground and some on the post in your painting … does this mean that the worm is one of those “freeze dried” varieties? :lol:

  2. wrjones says:

    That is a piece of blue wool to insulate his nest. He wants to be warm while watching the game (some crows dropping walnuts on rooftops).

  3. I’m glad to hear that. Smart bird to build its nest in winter!

  4. wrjones says:

    That’s where the term “bird brain” came from.

  5. Carol King says:

    Where did you paint this? Not from real life if it’s 60 degrees where you live. It’s 67 degrees in my apartment which is balmy compared to the 26 degrees outside right now. PLEASE SOMEONE, COME AND WALK MY DOG FOR ME!

  6. wrjones says:

    I don’t recall but most likely I did it at home when it was 95 outside and I wanted an image to cool me down mentally.

    I’ll walk your dog if you will take mine out for the pee he insists on taking at 2:00AM daily.

  7. kevmoore says:

    I have a metaphorical bone to pick with weather forecasters. All this minus 5, but minus 12 with the windchill….is that supposed to make me feel better? If there is a chilling wind, then its minus 12, end of discussion, whats the point in trying to warm yourself with hypotheticals? (my hypotheticals get cold very easily)
    Anyway, I am in great form, as Ive been out driving today with the top down in the Spanish sunshine, and returned home to laugh my ass off at the floods and blizzards in Yorkshire, England where I used to live. hahahaha!

  8. wrjones says:

    That’s the spirit Kev, to hell with those big dummies living where it’s cold.

  9. Do I detect someone who can’t take as well as he can give? :roll:

  10. gypsy-heart says:

    So that is what snow looks like..eh? I have lived in Florida my entire life. My sister recently moved to the Tennessee mountains…now our Mother tells people she moved up north! :O

    I do love this painting! It has such a sweetness to it..besides I’m into barbed wire!

    Thanks for sharing.

  11. wrjones says:

    How do you feel about razor wire?

Leave a Reply

