The Camera Eagle Has Landed

by Lisa

I have good news to report. I got a new camera, and now I can photograph my artwork properly. (Bet you thought I was going to say my gums felt better and I wasn’t cranky anymore.) Please compare the old picture of this miniature painting, to the new one.

rev_figure.jpg     rev_man_nikon.jpg

         old                        new

It will require that you click on them, to enlarge them in order to understand the difference in the quality. Humor me and tell me how much better the new one is.  Further humor me by bidding on this miniature on ebay. I will put it up tonight, under “Miniature Daily Oil Painting by Lisa Towers” which you will have to type into the search box. (Our blog server WordPress, will not allow us to publish links to ebay anymore–sorry!)

That’s the good news. The bad news is this new Nikon D40 digital camera is so bloody complicated, it will take me years to learn how to work it. I got it because it will take my array of Nikon lenses from my early years of being a photographer with a film SLR. I can work it with the lens it came with (which is what the above was shot with), but it will take a degree to be able to shoot with a manual lens.

This entry was posted in A Painting a Day, Painting, Still Life. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Camera Eagle Has Landed

  1. Janet says:

    Hi Lisa,

    I can see a HUGE difference (and I’m not saying that just to humor you). It’s sharper, I can even see the texture of the canvas you’re using. Now it can be enlarged without getting “pixellated.” (Okay, I don’t know how to spell that! And this from someone who works in book publishing but, at the moment, I’m too darn lazy to go look it up!)

    I’ve got one question for you about your new camera. I, too, have used Nikon film cameras and lenses (an F3 and an F4. There, that “dates” me!). But, I was under the impression that the Nikon D4 came with its own set of lenses (digital lenses) and that my older lenses were useless. Is this not true? I’d be in HEAVEN if I could use my older lenses with a digital Nikon!!!

    Janet
    http://janetwilkins.wordpress.com

  2. Miki says:

    I can see a huge difference too, Lisa! I think it was a very important decision to get a new camera, because a bad photo of a good painting is almost worst than a bad painting itself! Above all here where photos are the only way we can show our paintings.
    I have a Nikon too, and I love it. It´s bloody complicated too, but all these new products (software for your computer is a good example too…)are all wasting away through the modern illness of too much sophistication, which at the end leads to a totally useless product! For my part, I love the quality of the Nikon photos and just use the basic features I need, not spending my time trying to learn things i don´t need…
    Good luck on ebay!

  3. lbtowers says:

    Hi Janet and Miki,

    Yes, a D40 will take your old Nikon lenses. I have an old FG and FM. You have to set the camera on manual for those lenses. Even though I do have a few old automatic lenses, they do not seem to work like the automatic lens that came with the camera. This is where I am still learning. But you should google “using manual Nikon lenses on digital cameras” for more info. It does take beautiful pictures!

  4. kevmoore says:

    Okay…Ive studied them both for ages….I think I’ve got it. Is the guy in the second one wearing a different hat?

  5. Janet says:

    Hi Lisa,

    Have you put this painting up on eBay yet? I’ve tried your search terms (and a few others trying to “narrow” my search) but can’t find the painting. In fact, eBay keeps coming up with 0 matches or they lead me to many, many other paintings!

    Janet

  6. wrjones says:

    Janet, why don’t you just send some money directly to me? I’ll throw in a Nikon lens as well as a painting (as soon as Lisa sets that camera down).

  7. Janet says:

    You’ve got to work harder for my cash than that … where are your paintings on eBay? Besides, I have plenty of lenses, it’s that D4 that I want! :-)

    Janet

  8. lbtowers says:

    Janet, my apologies, I did not get around to putting the painting up on ebay last night, but it is there now. I’m sorry you wasted time looking, but try again.

    Thanks. I’m glad you cared enough to ask. I don’t feel so all alone in the world.

    …different hat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. 100swallows says:

    Gosh, this is like at the eye doctor’s. I think I see better with my right eye, Doc, but I’m not sure. And the little boy (or little girl) tore his kilt or her dress right up the middle. I see the writing (Slowers or Powers) better with my right eye–definitely.

  10. lbtowers says:

    Goofballs, all of you!!!!

  11. Yolanda says:

    I would say it is 200% better. If it is a Nikon, it’s good. I suppsoe you used the macro function so you can photograph from close.. You are in business now.

  12. frank says:

    the new camera is much better. i also noticed that there are some white specks of the canvas showing through which means you are not putting enough paint on the canvas when you try to cover it. i will be more willing to purchase a painting that has at best the canvas completely covered with paint. i hope you take this advise.

  13. lbtowers says:

    DUDE cut me some slack. I had to use a three haired brush to paint that sucker it’s so small, and I didn’t have my old lady glasses on that day. You drive a tough bargain Frank.

  14. Interesting comment from Frank. I’ve heard something similar before, that is, I’m told that too thin paint on the canvas is the “sign” of a watercolorist. Well, maybe that’s true, I work mostly in watercolor. But, I must also admit, I don’t mind a little canvas showing through!

    A three haired brush?!!! And, ahem! Old lady glasses?!!!

  15. Pingback: Bare Naked Canvas « On Painting

Leave a Reply

