No Painting Today

mylogosmall.jpg I have come to the conclusion that the teeth cleaning business is a racket. It is simply not necessary to go every six months as the dentists and hygenists will have you believe.  I want you all to know that I am an avid flosser. I take good care of my teeth, and at the slightest provocation from something painful in my mouth, I am in that dentist chair immediately. But, I do not believe in running to them for a cleaning that often.

Recently, I decided I had held out and made them suffer long enough, and I called and made an appointment for my cleaning. The receptionist looked up my records and informed me that indeed it had been just over two whole years since I had last been in. (I hear your collective”EWWWWWE”) She said it with disdain and an almost audible tsk, tsk. Frankly, even I was surprised. Time flies when you’re not being tortured.

My cleaning with the Nazi hygenist was yesterday. I can practically hear my dentist say to her, after looking at my chart, “See to it that she comes back in six months”. I have never had a more thorough–“cleaning”. She scraped and dug and poked and stabbed for an eternity. Occasionally, when she would spray water in my mouth, I thought about how good she’d be at waterboarding.  Everytime I  would object loudly to her stabbing my gums, the hygenist devil would remind me that I had not been in in quite a while, and my gums were really sensitive. Don’t forget, I am a champion flosser and my damn gums are NOT sensitive.

Bet you’re wondering what this has to do with painting. It made me cranky enough today that I didn’t want to do it. That’s what. I can’t eat because my gums feel like they were used as pin freaking cushions.

Next time I’d rather have a root canal, or maybe I’ll just keep my May 8th appointment.

This entry was posted in On Suffering, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Painting Today

  1. Susie Ciufo says:

    All I have to say is that I used to go only once a year……but the cleaning is tortuous(sp?), if you go every 6 months…it’s a piece of cake! Keep the May 8th appt. Miss you guys, Susie

  2. Pingback: Open Wide « On Painting

Leave a Reply

