Ramona’s Painted Cow

By WR Jones

angus.JPG

This painting of Wyoming cows was not convincing for Ramona. She, and a few others, thought those black areas looked like rocks. These shapes are probably fairly correct (I’d like to say they were absolutely correct, but as soon as a person saw all my other drawing errors, they would likely say, “horse shit”.) The back cow is getting up and they get up butt first, the middle cow is lying down, and the front cow is standing in a depression with head down feeding.

Ok, Ok, to demonstrate my commitment to the world of painting, I drove back to Wyoming to repaint this piece. I tracked down these very cows and asked them to recreate the pose. Luckily I had taped their positions during the first session. Knowing they were in demand as models, they raised their price. I had to give them some of that good Mexican grass I brought with me from California. All four of us enjoyed smoking it and I think it loosened us up a bit which made the piece more natural.

That front cow, I call her Ramona, stood like that for hours. Maybe that’s where the term stoned came from.

Here is the new cow: If you don’t like the look of her, maybe you should be raising sheep, pilgrim.

wyomingcow

This entry was posted in Landscape, Painting, Plein Air. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ramona’s Painted Cow

  1. Amanda says:

    Nice. If I were you, I’d still display the 2 pieces together. I think they’d look good together.

  2. wrjones says:

    Thanks, Amanda. I’m trying to get them both displayed but am having difficulty. They should both show up soon.

  3. grfxho says:

    Ooh, Ramona is a lovely “cow.” Nice job, Bill. I knew a boy from Iowa would eventually get it right.

  4. wrjones says:

    I’m grateful for the support. Ramona simply sent me a link to some other cow painter. I think that implies I should do better? I’m going to paint some sheep to hell with the cowboys.

  5. Miki says:

    What do you think: should I present Ramona to one of my bulls?

  6. wrjones says:

    That is an excellent idea. I admire someone who comes up with creative solutions.

    By the way, I looked at your colored pencil portraits. They are all skillfully rendered. I did a few pencil works myself but found it a very time consuming medium.

    Do you do watercolor portraits or only coffee cups and landscapes?

  7. Miki says:

    I´ll send you a photo of Paco, the bull which fancies Ramona, by email as I don´t know how to post it here…
    I normally do only portraits on commission, and the clients order me the style you saw. Yes, it is very time consuming, but I achieve with them the kind of likeness which my clients like and want… But I first start “modelling” the head and the main features with pastel, to give the volume and characteristics already. Then I do with the coloured pencils all the fine work. But this last phase takes hours and hours…
    I paint sometimes portraits in watercolour, but they are part of a bigger painting, for example sport paintings. I´ll post one in my Painter´s Pointer next, then you can see what I mean.
    I paint many many other things… cows too… but they are not as sexy as yours, the reason why. in spite of the distance, Paco wants Ramona…

  8. wpm1955 says:

    I think the second one, especially, is a beautiful painting.

    Madame Monet

  9. wrjones says:

    Thank you Madame. A beautiful model is inspiring.

Leave a Reply

