Monticello

By W.R. Jones

monticello.jpg  This bowl and pitcher, a gift from a friend,  is a souvenir from Monticello, the home of Thomas Jefferson, our third president.   I thought I was finished but I think I might paint out the spot of light at the tip of the key.  I was using a mag light with a white LED to produce a highlight and can’t decide if I want it or not.

    When I was at Monticello I found it hard but interesting to imagine that there really were family and slaves living there.  We are so removed from the food chain now it is difficult to realize the effort it took to feed, shelter, and clothe a large group – just survive, let alone prosper.  But the data on Jefferson that has stuck with me since the visit is that at his death he owed more money than the entire government.   So even with or perhaps because of all those slaves, he was not so much good at making money as he was at borrowing it.   A sort of early day Donald Trump.

This entry was posted in Painting, Still Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monticello

  1. grfxho says:

    The pitcher looks so perfect, and the desk setting is really nice. I like the ribbon to tie the colors together too.

  2. wrjones says:

    Thanks. Do you think I should paint out that bit of spotlight? I paid $0.50 for the ribbon. The extravagance of the ribbon shows I’m willing to do whatever it takes at any expense. Is that where the saying “a fool and his money…” comes from?

  3. grfxho says:

    Oh, one more thing… A lot of Thomas Jefferson’s debt stemmed from being President. At that point, if elected to that position you got to live in the White House, but you also assumed all cost for keeping it running. He had to pay for everything (servants, food, furnishings, grounds, maintenance, etc) and the cost of keeping it running was more than double what he actually earned each year as President.

    Monticello was not built until after he was President, I think… it was late in his life. He had his daughter come home to help him run it, and after serving as President, he didn’t have many assets left.

    It was that case for most/all of the first Presidents. Serving in public office left them broke and in so much debt they couldn’t dig themselves out before they died.

  4. grfxho says:

    I can’t decide about the spotlight… I think it fits with the lighting that is reflecting off the pitcher, but I can’t really picture what it would look like without it so I can’t say for sure.

  5. wrjones says:

    Oh, so now we are going to spill information all over my post. Buy your books, send you to school, and what do you do but use the education to bludgeon me with facts.

    Are you, perhaps, a Monticello docent?

    Out here in the west history means people like Warren Beatty, Madonna, Lindsey Lohan, et al.

  6. wrjones says:

    Actually I appreciate the information.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

