Grandma The Knitter

By W.R. Jones

head-study-3.jpg  This is how my daughter sees me since I told her I’ve been knitting.  I asked her if she would feel the same, i.e. me needing one of those rainbow stickers on my car, if I said I was learning to sew.  She said YES!  I then asked if it would make a difference if I said I was learning to be a tailor.   According to her it made no difference that men did sew I wasn’t supposed to.  How did I raise such a judgemental daughter?

    So now if she asks what I’m doing, I’m going to say woodwork (I’ve got a pair of rosewood needles).  I don’t want to catch any of you ladies out there with a hammer or pair of pliers in your hand; we’ve just got to keep these tasks separated by sex.  I’ll stay out of the kitchen, laundry, and cleaning I promise. 

This entry was posted in Drawing, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grandma The Knitter

  1. grfxho says:

    This implies you were ever in the kitchen, laundry, or cleaning in the first place. I think we all know that’s not true.

  2. wrjones says:

    Damn, how could you know that? Do you have a web cam in my kitchen? Once when Erika was about 5, she and my wife went on a trip for about a week. Erika asked how I was going to eat since I didn’t know where anything in the kitchen was located.

    I explained to her the concept of eating out.

    Is that a hammer in your hand?

  3. grfxho says:

    The better to “nail the coffin shut,” my dear… Of course, you’re doing a mighty fine job of digging your own hole without any help from me… :P

  4. killerbrush says:

    Thanks for visiting & commenting on my blog the other day. : )

Leave a Reply

