Budding Artist

by Lisa

 saiya.jpg

Yesterday one of my students in my portrait/figure class, Saiya, painted this painting. Saiya is a college bound kid who has been studying at the Art Institute all summer. She shows great potential as evidenced here. Though she came for only three or four weeks to my class, through the course of it, I had convinced her to paint by holding the brush at the end of the handle and step away from the canvas which helps you see the painting as a whole easier.  At first she was not too happy about the prospect which is pretty common. It feels strange at first. She admitted that every time I came over to her she would “assume the position” and kept sneaking closer to her canvas when I would turn my back. By the end of class yesterday I noticed how she looked like a real pro wielding that brush! She has a natural tendency to use bold brushstrokes and inventive color. Next week she goes off to school, and we wish her best of luck!!!

 Bill is out of town so if ya’ll want to talk about him now would be a good time.

This entry was posted in Weekly Student Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

