Pat’s Lovely Portrait

by Lisa

patpic1.jpg This is a portrait painted by my student Pat, of his mother. He did not do this in class, and I normally prefer to post pictures I have worked with students on, but I thought this was just exceptional. Also, he worked from a photo. Okay okay, sometimes we have to work from them, and in this case he did a beautiful job. I love the use of his bright color splashes of red and blue and how he incorporates them into her face. Pat has a vision problem, and paints loosely which is also what I love about this painting. This is an example of what I call a color sketch. The entire canvas is not painted, and the image kind of evolves out of it. Really nice job Pat.

Bill has been unusually quiet lately. He must be scheming a way to steal more flowers or maybe veggies from the neighbors garden. If he posts a painting of tomatoes I’m going to be really suspicious. I think there are support groups for this. Maybe Bill needs some intervention.

This entry was posted in Portrait, Raves, Weekly Student Work. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pat’s Lovely Portrait

  1. wrjones says:

    Lisa selected a good example for us all, wonderful use of color Pat.

    My neighbor grabbed me by the scruff of the neck and shook me violently until $550 dropped out of my pockets. The exact amount, I might add, that could have been used to purchase a new iphone. Instead it went to trim my trees from touching his house. Now how in the hell am I supposed to get up onto his roof? If he thinks this will keep me out of his tomatoes, HA!

  2. grfxho says:

    Lovely job, Pat, truly lovely. I find the bold style and use of color to be very appealing, like Lisa said.

    Bill, $550 buys a lot of fruits and veggies. It also buys a lot of flowers.

  3. wrjones says:

    Fruits, vegetables, flowers? Are you hungry? Is it your anniversary? Sorry, Juan and Jesus, the tree trimmers are probably using the money for some Coronas as we speak. However, my trees look better. I would have liked the iphone; could have used it to book a vacation for Trixe, Bubbles, and me. I would have taken Ragweed and Thistle of course – we would have gone to Disney World just for them.

  4. Pat says:

    This was a painting of my mother .We know how hard mothers are to please sometimes.She is 86.
    Painting from a photo is difficult. I really had to think hard about the light,cool v warm and her age.
    I decided to paint her as she is and not make her look like she is 50.
    I first did a drawing using only burnt umber. Frankly,I liked how that turned out and thought about not putting any color in at all.
    Pat

  5. lbtowers says:

    You were right to portray her as she is. Has she seen the portrait? I agree that the monochromatic drawings can be beautiful. Do another one!

Leave a Reply

