Cows

by WR Jones

cows.jpg   I call this picture “Cows” but that’s a bit of a joke.  Technically, these things have never given milk and never will.  Listen up, I’m going to educate you a bit on something you won’t learn in any Art School:  we don’t eat cows; cows give milk and are always/only female.  We eat steer.  That would be boy “cows” who have been relieved of the possibility of ever fathering more “cows.”

    You people from the midwest are all laughing.  The ‘coasters of the East and West variety are scratching their heads and wondering what in the hell I’m talking about.

    These are steers, and I included the anatomy to prove it. (I drew from life!  Lisa can’t complain one bit.)  I’m talking, of course, about the small horns on their heads

This entry was posted in Drawing, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cows

  1. grfxho says:

    I like this drawing. Not only does it make me think of home, it also reminds me of an illustration from a children’s book I have. I think it’s in “The Strange Disappearance of Arthur Cluck,” but I could be mistaken.

    Basically, it’s similar to a drawing from one of the various children’s books that features farm animals and a protagonist looking for someone or something he’s lost.

  2. wrjones says:

    The drawing makes me homesick. I drew it just outside of my hometown in Iowa. Shoot, now I’m getting teary I’d.

Leave a Reply

