Painting Under The Influence

by WR Jones

myfavoritevase.jpg  My Favorite Vase

    I was lacking energy so did a couple of lines of the white powder before I started this painting.  No, not Cocaine, I can’t afford that, besides it’s illegal.  I use baking soda.  With my unbridled imagination the placebo effect gets me very nicely high on the Arm and Hammer thank you.

    However, when the buzz hit, instead of feeling like painting I had a strange desire to clean the fridge.  Got that done and then painted this. 

    Yup, flowers, you know what that means – a trip to the neighbor’s garden.  If she could shoot a little better my painting days would be over.  As it is all she has to show for her gunslinging ways are holes in her fence.  This time I was not thinking too clearly and made the raid in my good pants.  In my haste to escape the barrage I ripped a hole in them.  Lesson learned – use old pants when stealing flowers.  I got so pissed off at her shooting at me I used some Mason Dots to lure that gopher in my yard over into her flower garden.  It wasn’t until I cooled down I realized I might have killed the goose that grew the golden flowers.  Lesson learned – don’t act in anger.

    I love this little vase.  I painted it on a dark blue/green velour like material.  I like the material but it really sucks up the light.  I was debating whether or not to paint a little brighter around the shadow of the vase on the material.  In the end I decided to go with what I saw rather than lie like Lisa keeps telling me to.

This entry was posted in Painting, Rants, Still Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Painting Under The Influence

  1. dee says:

    Yikes, what a violent tale ;-)
    Love the flower and vase, well done!

  2. wrjones says:

    Thanks Dee. You have to understand that painting is a brutal business. Sometimes we must abuse a substance (or two – in this case baking soda and Dots) to get us through. I used to do stuff like play hockey without pads, rugby, ride bulls, that sort of thing, but they were just too tame. Now, in oil painting, I take the beating I deserve.

Leave a Reply

