Paint the Light. Please.

by Lisa

niponbowl.jpg

This is the demo I did this week for my class. I am trying to get my students to think more about the light. One student recently told me that she needs to really like what she is painting. I told her that she should perhaps revise that to needing to really like what the light is doing to the subject.  So often students pay no attention to this way way  way important little detail. (Bill tells me I can’t use all caps anymore to emphasize something because it looks like I am yelling. So from now on, maybe I’ll just repeat it a bunch of times.) Invariably, students will spend a great deal of time setting up a still life, and never even put a light on the subject until I walk over to them and point out the omission. For this still life, I lit it before I put the subject in there.  All important. I created a little sliver of interesting light hitting the subject.  As I look at it in the small version, I wonder if it couldn’t have been an even smaller sliver of light. I may fix that.

This entry was posted in Art Instruction, Painting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paint the Light. Please.

  1. wrjones says:

    A beautiful painting;you are one of the best in the country with these still lifes. Sooner or later you will get the national recognition you deserve.

  2. lbtowers says:

    I am not giving you my son Bill. But thank you anyway. It was very sweet of you to say.

    Lisa

  3. wrjones says:

    I don’t want your son; I want that small painting study you promised. I know you think I’ve forgotten, that I’m lucky to remember to poop outside my pants everyday. Not so; since I started drinking Pepsi One, I’m good for about 6 out of 7 days.

    Anyway I don’t need a son for help with the yardwork. I’ve got the twins. It may be awhile before their mother allows them to use power tools; I don’t like to leave them alone with the mower much before the age 3 myself. Oh well, the backyard will have to wait. We will just have shade weeds until they grow into the job.

  4. grfxho says:

    If you think I’m going to be baited into that whole using-the-twins-as-yard-work-slaves argument so easily (again)… you’d be wrong.

    I love the lighting in this one, Lisa, the capture of the little details on the dish, and the way the shadows are elongated on the loose wedges on the table.

  5. lbtowers says:

    Thank you grfxho. I aim to please.

    By the way, I am beginning to wonder if we will ever know your true name. Will you always remain, grfxho, or milkweed, or some derivative of those? You look like a Julie. Nah–Jamie, JESSICA. That’s it Jessica. Will you tell me if I’m right? Close?

  6. grfxho says:

    Nope. Not even close… well, except once my siblings and I were playing this sort of how-well-do-you-know-your-friends board game of some kind and you had to basically insult each other (that may not have been the original purpose of the questions, in hind sight) and we had to say which cartoon character the other person was.

    My sister was easy – she was absolutely a blonde Betty Boop at that age. She said I was Jessica Rabbit, which really annoyed me at the time, but I can’t think of why. It resulted in my brother and father taunting me with “I’m not bad…I’m just drawn that way…” for a few years. Jerks.

    Anyway… You can call me Shay, if that is more palatable than the alternatives you already have. A lot of my friends call me ‘Weed, so it doesn’t bother me either way.

Leave a Reply

