When in Doubt Glue the Damned Canvas

henrypainting-001.jpg

Okay, so I like weird things like this doll torso.  Bill fits right up there too. This limbless porcelain doll has great potential for interesting paintings and drawings, and I am working on a show of drawings of it now. You can check my Lisa Page for some posters I created from a few of the drawings.  I actually painted this a few years ago, on a piece of canvas taped to a board, and did not take it seriously at the time. But I grew to love my little doll figure, whom I have named Heinrich, and I wanted to frame this painting. However, I had painted to the edge of the canvas and did not have room around the image to stretch it.

I recently discovered the great trick of pasteing paintings (or blank canvas) to acid free foam core with Yes Paste. This is great for spontaneous painting when you don’t want to bother to stretch canvas, or don’t know the size that your finished piece will be. I glued this painting down just the other day, and it finally looks finished. I was even able to photograph it decently for the first time. Is decently a word? By the way, I have also discovered that when you are trying to take a quick photo of a painting that has reflective quality (this painting was varnished with GLOSS!!! &%@!#), a good way to do it is to put it right down on the floor in front of you and shoot straight down at it.   Try it. It really works. Just make sure you can import the painting into photoshop to crop your toes out of the frame.

Is this a boring-ass post? Do we need to add that catagory again? I personally prefer funny over informational. FEEDBACK PLEASE!!!!!

Lisa

Click here if your name is Matthew and you would like to leave a comment. A nice one.

This entry was posted in Still Life, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to When in Doubt Glue the Damned Canvas

  1. grfxho says:

    My name is not Matthew, but I wanted to post that I really REALLY enjoy what I have seen of your Heinrich series. In this one, the lighting you’ve captured or added is fantastic.

    (Oh, and your post was funny AND informational, hardly boring.)

  2. lbtowers says:

    Thanks grfxho. It SHORE IS NICE to get feedback from someone so we don’t feel so all alone in the world. Bill and I have been enjoying your blog too. Keep up the good work,

    Lisa

  3. grfxho says:

    I cannot promise to be fantastically insightful about the technical and artistic aspects of the paintings, of course, but I’ll happily throw around my own opinion and air my own neurosis (or let Bill do that for me).

  4. lbtowers says:

    Air away. You’re in good company here!

  5. Matthew says:

    My name IS Matthew and I suppose I should leave a comment. I’d like to see Lisa do some charcoal work. I know it is not painting, but what the heck? Oh, and no eraser. AND timed.

    Thanks for the invite!

  6. Matthew says:

    I do like the half doll. Very morbid.

  7. lbtowers says:

    I’ll draw you Matthew and add horns, and about 20 years.

  8. Ian says:

    Serious enquiry:

    How much would you sell/allow use of image for? Realistically?

  9. lbtowers says:

    Ian, you can email me directly, and I would LOVE to chat with you about the prospect.

    lbtowers@aol.com

  10. Good info about the Yes glue, which I’ve never used. Is it acid-free?

  11. lbtowers says:

    Yes!!!

  12. Rebecca says:

    So, can you remove from the canvas from the foamcore after painting or do you just cut it down and frame it??? I love this, because I do some trompe l’oeil with striping and need a flat rigid surface, like a wall.

Leave a Reply

