How Much Is This Painting Worth?

bankgirl2-post.jpg  Here is the next step in my portrait of a toddler.  The hair is only blocked in at this state.  I am going to change the shirt and background as well.  I’m thinking of making the shirt either all light pink with a white collar or maybe a pattern of light/dark pink with a white collar (in the photo the shirt is blue).  I’m not sure of what to do with the background.  I want something like the ABC type of stuff we associate with this age.  I might use a wall border with block letters A B C (as suggested by a friend, Valorie), or a chalk board.

    I’m going to end up spending perhaps 20 hours on this.  My wife will want to give it away; I don’t.  I don’t even know the family this kid belongs to.  I could give them the piece and it could well end up in their garage or even trash.  There are many who do not value paintings or even appreciate the years of study and hours of work that go into creating them.   I don’t know how we arrive at our collective values.  I can’t imagine anyone asking someone they don’t know to do the following for free:

     Please come over and install a sprinkler system in the backyard; replace my car brakes; paint my house; update my bathroom plumbing; hang this wallpaper; set this broken arm; etc.

     But it sure seems to work that way for a painting.  I get this a lot; “could you just make me a painting of flowers?”  When you do, they may or may not offer a token payment.   If you quoted them even a reasonable hourly rate they would shit and fall back in it.

     There was a recent post on the “Robert Genn Twice Weekly Newsletter” where he told of the violin player who after playing in a venue where he received $1000 per minute for his music, played in a metro station where he was ignored by most; some would thow change into the violin case that housed his $3 million Stradivarius.

     Everyone is ignoring me, but really I’m worth $1000/min.

Bill

This entry was posted in On Suffering, Portrait, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How Much Is This Painting Worth?

  1. Lisa says:

    My but you have been a busy little blogger Bill. I’m beginning to wonder if you actually got a computer at home now to be doing all that posting. Perhaps Martha is still away, and you are truly all alone in the world. I see that Erika is at least humoring you. Add to your list of special requirements for a new blogging partner, the ability to proofread your posts.

    No, I have not dropped off the face of the earth, but my mom is still not of the new age, and has dial-up. This makes me feel guilty running up her phone bill. Plus, CAN’T I HAVE A VACATION for cryin’ out loud? When you go to your little painting jaunt in Idaho, I’ll bet we don’t hear from you for two weeks. Geez oh Pete.

    Anyway, clearly the blog is in good hands with you Bill. Sounds like you are having a wonderful time entertaining your masses.

    Lisa

  2. Roy Poillon says:

    I have a painting by E. Maurice, it is of a open market where flowers are being sold with two nuns in the back drop. Is E. Maurice a popular or known artist. Is this artists work of significant value? roy

  3. wrjones says:

    Glad you stopped by, Roy. Judging the value of a painting is very tricky business. I suggest you google the name of this artist. If he is well known he will most likely show up somewhere on the net. If he has gallery representation you can inquire what the prices are for work of a similar size and subject.

    Unless you are a professional collector looking for profit, I think the best advice is to buy the painting you like at a price both you and the painter feel is fair then hang it and enjoy.

  4. Rebecca says:

    Bill, you summed it up. It’s really disgusting, isn’t it? Around here, we buy a lot of each other’s stuff, since sometimes it seems only artists appreciate and respect other artists! When art dies, so will humanity..(probably the title of my next post!)

  5. wrjones says:

    Rebecca – we could trade paintings. Do you have any weed paintings?

    Could you title a post “Bill”? I’ve been trying to get the pregnant women to name a child after me but so far no success. Having a post named after me might be the next best thing.

    Are you going to enroll in a culinary class to learn the difference between a bagel and powered donut? I have to go to school to learn how to paint a weed.

  6. Rebecca says:

    Silly Bill! Yes, indeed weeds are difficult..they grow in spite of all attempts on their lives, yet if you try to grow one, it’ll die for sure. Resorting to this type of obstinance should help you paint one!

    I’ve given up on culinary school..I don’t like to be bossed around.

    and yes, my next post will be titled “Bill” in your honor.

    Although, there could be a backlash from Lisa. We’ll jump that shark when we come to it.

    I think I’ll go make a s’more. I can use the toaster oven.

  7. Rebecca says:

    ps. why don’t we both do a weed painting and swap. and we’ll post ’em on each others’ blogs.

    How about aceo size 2.5 x 3.5?

  8. wrjones says:

    Rebecca – s’more? In a toaster oven? So you didn’t give up, you are a graduate of culinary school. I’ll be right over. I have just the wine – Charles Shaw.

    I have shade weeds that are protecting the south side of the house from the sun. Will they be ok?

    Now I have to look aceo up again. I did earlier today but have forgot already.

    Say, did you know you have one eye sticking out past the side of your head? Be carefull going round corners you could snag that baby.

    And, I’m very curious as to how you picked out your blog title. Do you have dust rhinos under your bed?

  9. Rebecca says:

    Hey Bill, sorry I didn’t see your last post here. Smelly Rhino…don’t know how it came up, guess I pulled it out of my ass! Honestly, it had something to do with me, a friend, the airport, a bar, whiskey & 7up and a cocktail napkin!

    oh, yea, I’ve been busy but I’m nearing readiness for your weeds…I don’t want to be responsible for untimely erosion, so pick wisely. I’ll work on yours this week.

    I’ll be ready with the 2 buck Chuck and some graham cracker delites when we post these. Be ready, it could get crazy!

  10. wrjones says:

    Rebecca – I’m really struggling with this weed motif. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen weeds I wanted to paint then passed them by. Now that I’m serious about it, I can’t find what I want. I’m looking for something in the thistle family but want it up against a wall or fence or coming out of concrete. I also would like to have only a portion in the light. I’ve been doing crazy stuff to get reference material. I was laying on the ground trying to put one weed partially in shade with my body. Didn’t work and my wife started calling me an idiot (well, she really started that some years back – so correctly speaking she continued to call me an idiot). I want a serious weed work not just post fluff. I see our paintings hanging side by side in that big museum in New York – you will have to drive us for the hanging ceremony. I drove there once – whoa let’s just take a cab.

  11. Rebecca says:

    update on weed. I forgot to snap a pic…that one now has all the good stuff chewed off…

  12. wrjones says:

    Damn, Rebecca, what are you reading this old stuff for? Hey it is summer there should be plenty of weeds.

Leave a Reply

