Blue Shutter – Nuts!

By WR Jones

That red shutter got to me.  I can’t handle bright colors I guess.  When I looked at the painting from across the room the shutter was all I could see.  And it looked strange seeing that bright red off to one side.   So I painted it blue.  Told the wife I couldn’t do any work around the house as I had shutters to paint.   Took the painting down to the beach.   Do you have any idea how hard it is to stretch painting 0.93 square inch of shutter into 8 hours of work?   I had to come home looking drained.   I practiced the look in my rear view mirror for a hour before returning home.  Practice is the key to success.

Those damn people with big dogs!   Just came back from a walk.   As her bull mastiff was lunging at me, this woman gave me one of those proud smiles like she was showing off a newborn babe.   I suppose she was confident the ox sized dog was not going to bite.  I did not share her confidence.   As a dog whisperer (picked up from watching the show of that name on TV), I could read that dog’s mind like a coffee table book with mostly pictures.   Dog:  “Whoa, looky here, this rickety old man just peed his pants.  I’ve got him on the run.  Why don’t I just give him a little nip on one of those chicken legs and see if I can get him into full  submission?”

This entry was posted in Humor, Painting, Plein Air. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Blue Shutter – Nuts!

  1. rahinaqh says:

    Bill you are an artist! a bit slow i grant you…. but an artist through and through. it was a good change to make and now that you have, i can see what you mean. clearly, that mut does not follow your blog:)

  2. Rhonda says:

    You were right to change the color of the shutter, Bill – drew too much attention being the only bright red in the painting – besides, I’m fond of blues :) As for dogs – just returned from a week at the beach in northern Florida and people are now walking their dogs on the beach…with dogs doing their business on the beach…and people not picking it up in a plastic bag but leaving it out…for people who are crazy enough to still walk barefoot on the beach to step on…ewwwww!!! And yes, there are signs posted – no dogs or cats (although a cat would, at least, cover the stuff up). Maybe people who walk or let their dogs run on a very nice, white sand beach, are people who can’t read? BTW, good for you, taking 8 hours to make this change, thereby getting out of another 8 hours of work your wife probably wanted you to do – ah, the life of an artist!

  3. HA HA HA! My dogs play chicken leg with each other. It’s so funny!

  4. Sam says:

    Uh-oh… I liked the red shudda bedda.

    Double uh-oh… Me and the dog love dogs. And I ate a leftover chicken leg for lunch and the dog ate the skin for suppa. But neither of us would bite yours.

    So…
    “Shoot. Me. Now.”
    – then-Senator Obama, in a note to an aide during one of Joe Biden’s bloviations at a Senate hearing

  5. lesliepaints says:

    Looks to me like you were able to add a few more shadows on the side of the house, also!

  6. Barbara Pask says:

    I liked the red but I think the blue is better. That sweet chair and shadow is your focal point and the red was fighting it a bit maybe. Until they get a coat of varnish they are fair game. lol

  7. wrjones says:

    Rahina – thanks. Excellent points. I will leave the dog my card the next time he goes for me.

    Rhonda – I agree about the color. I used to hate people who let their dogs poop all over the place. Now we have a dog; doesn’t seem quite so bad.

    Rebecca – would you have a shit eating grin if your dogs lunged at my chicken legs?

    Sam – sorry, the shutter is blue. I don’t have the energy to go back to red. You have to realize the shutter is a large area of at least 0.93 sq in.

    Leslie – I did add some shadows which I hoped would make the painting flow better.

    Barbara – Thanks for agreeing. I like you better than Sam. But he is alright since his dog is not biting me.

  8. Dawn says:

    You are so entertaining Bill! lol

  9. Carol King says:

    cluck, cluck, cluck, the reason you have chicken legs is cause you’re a big chicken. I liked the red shutter. You shoulda left the shudda red!

    (Ok, the blue is nice too, but is give the painting a completely different feel.)

    And you’re only scared of the big dogs cause you’re dog is a little doggie.

  10. wrjones says:

    Dawn – thanks, I guess.

    Carol – I should have kept the red? What can I say; no balls. I’m scared of big dogs cause they have big teeth, and I’ve been bitten, and it hurts.

  11. Dawn says:

    Your not posting as much….busy at work????

  12. Dawn says:

    and yes, it was a positive statement about your being entertaining….with words and beautiful paintings….

  13. Jala Pfaff says:

    Hi Bill! Long time no blog hop.
    I have two big dogs…but they’re Goldens. Goldens would rather lick you to death than anything else.

    What about a color compromise for the shutters (and then you’d get another day off for the hard work, too)? Let’s see, blue + red = purple. Purple shutters! I vote yes!

  14. Hi Bill – beautiful painting – love the way you handled the chair. I sorta liked the red, though, and you do have some red in the flowers. Anyway, red or blue – it’s a lovely painting!

  15. Rhonda says:

    Well, you’re MIA, Bill, and people are wondering what adventures you are in right now – and glad they can hear about them later :) Hope you are busy and happy!

  16. wrjones says:

    Dawn – I am busy and work and home. Have not been painting much or blogging at all.

    Jala – It has been a long time. Yes, I could do purple shutters for another post.

    Connie – thanks. I put the red in the flowers for the shutters. I guess I have to pull them up and paint/plant blue flowers.

    Rhonda – I’m busy but the happy part is questionable. Let me see if I can go get into some trouble to write about.

  17. Bonnie Luria says:

    To me, the focal point was always that lovely chair and its shadow. I didn’t see the red shutter ( shudder at the thought )as a distraction. But it proved a great distraction for YOU, getting you out of house duties. You’re a clever guy Bill.
    And, it got you another post!
    You just taught this old dog a new trick.
    We miss you when you don’t post.

  18. Damn if I didn’t do a similar sketch of a lawn chair that looks just like that! Guess old art geezers standing on spindly legs think alike! Damn! Your practicing exhausted facial expressions in the rear view mirror reminds me when I was in PE class in high school. The f–king PE coach would have us run around the track. During the winter in Stockton, the fog would set in for weeks on end. We would run half way up the track until we were lost in the fog, cross sideway to the other side of said track, and then come running back to the coach huffing and puffing. That dumb ass bought it hook, line and sinker! I had spindly legs then, as well.

  19. wrjones says:

    Bonnie – Thanks for valuing my evasion of work around the house. Many folks see that as a character flaw. I’m glad you see it for the sophisticated personal relationship control that it is.

    David – excellent trackmanship. I could have maybe helped you a bit. I would have disappeared for a few classes then came in huffing and puffing and telling the coach I got lost in the fog and ran a damn marathon.

  20. Damn if that’s not a brilliant idea! Alas, 46 yrs. too late, but maybe I can tweek the idea for maybe forgetting a wedding anniversary.

  21. wrjones says:

    David – this is the kind of give and take that happens when two great minds get together. I LOVE the anniversary slant. Might not be foggy so we could massage the idea with “I was blinded by the sun and ended up running a damn marathon right past the diamond store. Too late this year, I’m all tuckered out. I will double up for you next year, trust me.”

Leave a Reply

