4th Of July Sale

By wr jones

Well, now that Christmas is over I’m waiting by the mail box for the Macy’s One Day Only 4th Of July sale catalog.   I expect it will be here by tomorrow.  If they would stop sending so damn many catalogs and just give me credit for the cost of printing and postage I could buy their stuff at full price.

Here is an at least semi interesting 4th of July story for those of you ready to move on with your holidays.   Last year my wife set up for free hot dogs to be served at the bank where she works.   It was so popular that the parking lot and lobby were filled with hot dog eaters.   A man walked into the branch to ask about rates.   Seeing the crowd, he left and robbed the bank next door.

I guess he had already eaten and was ready to get back to work.

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to 4th Of July Sale

  1. Bill,
    Do you have back to back banks? Your town must be quite rich!No wonder the robber thought he might make a little money while he was there. Everyone was busy eating so they wouldn’t be paying attention to mere details like theft-in-action.
    I hope he was gun-toting. That just would not be nice.
    K

  2. carolking says:

    What a sweet painting. I love the doggie on the lawn and I loved that you named it “come home”. Whoever lives here probably can only afford Macy’s on sale. I used to work at Macy’s Herald Square. I could only shop there with a sale and an employee discount.

  3. lesliepaints says:

    Very inviting painting. I would not mind spending some time in a cabin like this. The dog welcoming me home and all. But where would I stash my art supplies?

  4. Rhonda says:

    I like this little cabin. I like it a lot. I like it so much I’m going to dream about it tonight, pretending it is my own private get-away/studio for painting. I think I’ll bring my cat, though, that dog looks too big to fit in that little house.

  5. rahinaqh says:

    Bill, excellent work… the painting i mean. i particularly like the the reflected green light about the whole scene…. the dog looks so lost, a lovely touch.
    as for your waiting around in front of the post box for a catalogue, i realised you actually don’t have anything better to do with your time:) and the 4th of July story… well lucky for the guy if he found money in the next bank because if he were here he would have found the banks bankrupt

  6. wrjones says:

    K – there are a lot of banks. I Don’t know how many have any money in them.

    Carol – thanks.

    Leslie – Thanks. The cabin proportions are pretty close to correct. It was very small which caught my attention. There was someone setting at a table by the window. When painting I kept wanting to paint it bigger. There is a small addition to the back of the cabin which gives a little more room. This is an actual residence in a small West Virgina town. I wanted to knock on the door to see inside. Where is room for a bath, kitchen, bedroom?

    Rhonda – When you have a small house you need a big dog.

    Rahina – thanks. I was wondering what you meant by a green light. Now that I’m looking at my monitor at work I see what you mean. The actual painting does not have that green cast on the cabin. I will have to check how it looks again at home and maybe re-shoot the photo.

    • lesliepaints says:

      I am glad you mentioned someone sitting in the window. I was going to mention that I liked how you rendered the window and that it looked as though you spent time telling the viewer there was something behind it. My eye went back and forth between that window and the dog. Another thing I like about your paintings is that you render the foliage in such a manner that it supports the subject material. You render nature in such a way as it appears to hug what you are painting. I like that.

    • Carol King says:

      Bill: THANKS? That’s all you got to say? Are you sick or something?

  7. Lori says:

    I love the painting, especially the little dog and the flowers.

    No wonder all the banks are broke, giving away all that free food!

  8. wrjones says:

    Leslie – thank you. And how is your family this evening? (I added the question because Carol thinks it is a breach of etiquette to just say thanks)

    Carol – I wasn’t going to talk to you until your tan wears off. Bonnie commented that I shouldn’t say I hated you for going to the island without me. It was too strong a word. So, I’m mildly upset you left me behind while you frolicked in the sun.

    Lori – thanks. Sort of an ugly dog, based loosely on Carol’s dog (i.e. not a perfect likeness).

  9. You’re certainly thinking ahead to be excited already about the 4th of July, Bill! I don’t plan ahead so well any more. One thing at a time, preferably in not too distant future (lest I forget about it) is about the extent of my planning capabilities these days.

    Thanks for the kind Christmas and New Year’s wishes. I hope your holidays were lovely, and that 2010 is a good one for your and yours.

  10. Oh… I was going to comment about the cabin and forgot (see?!).

    It’s a charming place and I’m glad you painted it so we can all enjoy it too. I’m guessing the main room is bedroom, living room and kitchen all rolled into one space. That little addition on the back could be an added bathroom since there doesn’t appear to be an outhouse.

  11. I know what you mean about holiday fly by…and the crass commercialization.

    I just really am taken with this image… the idyllic scene with the pup and all…but visually it is restfull and cool like early morning before a rain. The entire thing is well executed…brushstroke, color…one of your best.

  12. Liz Holm says:

    Love the cottage and pup.
    I wish our bank gave away free hot dogs. We’re lucky to get free checking.
    Hope your holidays have been jolly, and that 2010 brings all good things, and superb 4th of July deals your way.
    Liz

  13. Are we sure that this cabin doesn’t belong to the dog? (As a dog house it is magisterial.)

    Lovely sensitive painting. I like the garden especially much, the evocative treatment of the garden plants, so true to life.

  14. Barbara Pask says:

    Wonderful painting Bill. I love log cabins and the dog is such a sweet little touch. Really like the nice greens of the roof and door.

  15. wrjones says:

    Diana – the good news is you don’t have to plan. The 4th will be here in the wink of an eye; plan or no plan. Just hurry down to the market and get some hot dogs and relish to be ready.

    Cathyann – thanks. Get those firecrackers ready.

    Liz – thank you. I’m looking for the 30% off deals for 4th of July shorts; should be here any day.

    Aletha – the dog probably thinks it is his. This cabin is in a small town setting in between two old brick houses as I recall. I wonder how old it is. Must be very old as no one would make a house this small in todays markets.

    Barbara – thanks. I was going to have the dog setting at the table but then remembered you had already covered that :-)

  16. Anna Surface says:

    I love this log cabin and dog painting. Wonderful! A keeper and a painting that would hang on my wall.

    Bill, Happy New Year to you and yours!

  17. I’ve enjoyed all you shared this year and can’t wait to see and read what you have to present this next year. Happy New Year to you.

  18. wrjones says:

    Anna and Preston – a very happy new year to you both. Keep taking those wonderful photos in 2010 so I can have something to paint from (but don’t tell anyone – it is a painting secret).

    Aletha – Happy 2010 to you. Many happy cat and fish paintings for you and your child. I guess the husband can just stay outside and pull weeds.

  19. Bill, thanks for the great suggestion about what to do with the husband! (And idea you got, no doubt, from wise Mrs. Bill!)

  20. Rebecca says:

    Bill,

    Nice! I’ve been a bit absent, and was missing you. I can tell Christmas was everything you had hoped for. I see that You, too enjoy the post holiday Winter as much as I. I’m writing about the Macy’s catalogs again. We share a common bond, darling.

  21. A charming little painting studio–that’s the way I see it. Love the July 4th story, and happy new year to you and yours.

  22. wrjones says:

    Rebecca – we have so many things in common we are probably related. I keep expecting to run into you at Macy’s.

    Connie – Thanks. Happy new year to you. It was a cute cabin from the outside. I’m so curious about what it looked like inside. I guess I should have knocked on the door and pretended to be selling magazine subscriptions.

  23. gypsy-heart says:

    Nice painting..I love the sweet feel of it!

    Happy New Year..Happy New Decade!

  24. Carol King says:

    Yoo Hoo, it’s a new year. We want a new painting.

    Time to wake up and get to work.

  25. Bonnie Luria says:

    An almost sentimental painting from you Bill. And the title intrigues .
    Post holiday and you’re right on cue with sizing up all that ills us.

    I think Victorias Secret holds a record for number of catalogs sent per week per household.
    Wish I had a fireplace.

    Happy New Year and see Carols words, above.

  26. lesliepaints says:

    Hi Bill. Stopped by to see if you were alright. :)

  27. wrjones says:

    Gypsy-heart – Thanks. I like the added touch of the decade.

    Yoo hoo Carol I’m having painters block. Not for ideas, mind you, but for completions.

    Bonnie have Victoria Secret bonfires down by the beach. Any participant must be wearing VS underwear or maybe just the body cream.

    Hi Lesie – I’m ok just slow at finishing any paintings.

  28. Okay Bill; I got hot dogs and buns and relish. Think they’ll last until July?

Leave a Reply

