Joe Willie

by Lisa

joe_willie2

       I am in Tuscaloosa, Alabama visiting my Dad for Thanksgiving.  Tuscaloosa is where I grew up for the most part. Anyone who is from here, or has ever been here can tell you that football is pretty much a way of life. The above snapshot is of me when I was a kid, 10 years ago, sporting my Joe Namath sweatshirt with my autographed paraphenalia. Of course we refer to him here as Joe Willie. I think you have to be from here to have earned that privilege. He was one popular dude playing quarterback for the University of Alabama back then and went on to star for the Jets, for all you sissies who don’t know that.

dads_house-001      

      Well, what goes around comes around. See the house up above? That’s my Dad’s house. This so happens to be the house that Joe Willie lived in years ago. That’s right, my circle is complete. This is the back of the house and right behind me is the lake it sits on. I love to stand here and imagine young Joe throwing passes in the backyard. In those tight little footbally pants. Sometimes when I’m standing inside, I try to imagine him coming through the front door, all hot and sweaty from winning a game against Auburn, and having to turn sideways to get those big shoulder pads through the door. At night when I lay there in bed I can just imagine…oh nevermind. Getting back to painting.

      I’ll try to do a little landscape sketching anyway from his backyard here. I’ll post it if I do. But DON’T be surprised if you see a figure of a football player in there somewhere. With cute little dimples.

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Joe Willie

  1. Hi Lisa!!
    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!! What a fun post! Alabama.. I’ll bet it’s nice to go back and visit and it looks like a perfect place to paint too.
    ENJOY your loved ones and such a beautiful place to be.

  2. kevmoore says:

    Isn’t it time for your cold shower, Lisa? :-) Nice reminiscence from your past. The photo speaks of a happy childhood. (I’m ignoring the furry cow thing- I think it might have rabies)

  3. Ah, Joe Willie White Shoes.
    We used to pretend we were joe playing football as kids in NY.

    Happy Thanksgiving Lisa.
    No football games on the tube at our meal yesterday. Whew, something else to be grateful for.

  4. Cute picture of you, Lisa. I recognized you right away. I guess some people’s faces don’t change all that much over the years…. you are one of the lucky ones.

  5. Susan says:

    Hi, I saw your blog on Barbara Pask’s. Just wanted to let you know, that I, being much, much older than you (judging from your picture of ten years ago) was a huge fan of Joe’s and I’m from the South! In those days, I never stopped talking about him. All my autographs in my senior yearbook said something to the effect of “hope you get to meet your “honey Joe”. Alas, when I finally did get to NYC for a vacation, I didn’t have time to try to find a way to meet him. I still think he’s pretty cool, though. Thanks for the memories. Susan

  6. wrjones says:

    What a cute little thing you were.

Leave a Reply

