Canta Canta Pajarito

By WR Jones 

    This little fellow is singing his ass off.  Reminds me of myself in the morning shower. 

    When I was around 12 or 13 there was a wealthy man (by my hometown standards anyway) who had a pond constructed in his very large back lot.  He had this pond stocked with fish.  I don’t remember what all varieties he put in there but he did have bass.  All the fish he originally stocked were 5lbs or larger.

    He wasn’t all that gregarious, at least not to boys of our age.  This meant we had to commando fish the place.  This was fine with us.  We would sneak out of our houses around 1AM, fish and smoke until 4, then return to bed.  I had to set up a chair with a stack of books to reach the basement window through which I exited the house. 

    Getting back in was a bitch.  I fell twice knocking over the books and chair.  The first time my mom came down.  I was already out of my clothes and told her I was going to the bathroom and tripped on the chair.  The second time I got no response at all.  She was probably thinking, “it’s just Billy going to pee; clumsy little bugger.”

    We hadn’t completely thought this through on the first run.  We caught a few fish, kept them on a stringer and started home.  As we neared our homes we suddenly realized we had no way to explain the catch.  “What’s that in the refrigerator?  Don’t know; guess the fish fairy was here.”  We left them on someone’s doorstep.

 

This entry was posted in Humor, Landscape, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Canta Canta Pajarito

  1. Dianne Mize says:

    Mighty fine little painting, Bill. Love it.
    About those fish….

  2. wrjones says:

    Thanks Dianne. I hope that wasn’t your doorstep.

  3. Niffty, beautifully subtle painting.I like it! Fish and house guests stink in two days (or something to that effect…sorry Mr. Franklin where ever you are).

  4. wrjones says:

    Thank you David. Have a nice 4th. Don’t burn yourself with the fireworks.

  5. Dianne Mize says:

    For years, we’ve wondered about those fish. And to think I thought they were from Santa. Drats.

  6. 100swallows says:

    Nice painting, Bill. Great water too. And that must be your best bird. Did he really have his mouth open like that?–that bathtub singer. ¡Que cante, que cante!

  7. ivdanu says:

    Great variation on blue. and nicely composed too. By the way, bill, in romanian we say : Canta canta pasarica… which proves that we are kind of cousins to spaniards…

  8. Carol King says:

    The fish fairy! funny. love the painting, the blue is great. very atmospheric.

    damn keyboard….husband spilled a beer all over it and now all they keys stick.

  9. wrjones says:

    Dianne – does that mean you have the traditional Bluegill for Christmas?

    Thanks, swallows, he might have that mouth open wide waiting for a mosquito.

    Ivandu – I think that language similarity qualifies you to tilt at windmills.

    Carol – kick him in the hip.

  10. gypsy-heart says:

    I like this painting…what a charming little fellow. The bird…I mean. eh,eh,eh

    Somehow I knew you have always been trouble!

  11. wrjones says:

    Gypsy – as I recall, I was a nearly world famous angel; a model child.

Leave a Reply

