The Gods Have Voted: Lisa Will Not Be a Landscape Painter

by Lisa 
          So, I went out, as I told you in my last post, to sharpen the ol’ landscape painting skills. I went alone and a cappella. I had chose an area nestled in the mountains on a cliff overlooking the beach. There were beautiful yellow wildflower bushes everywhere.
          I was painting along feeling happy about being outside and not being attacked by any creatures. My painting was by no means spectacular, but I was enjoying myself. The weather was beautiful, the waves were crashing below me, and seagulls seemed to fill the sky. They were carrying on and cackling and doing flybys to see if I might offer any food. And for a while, I was entertained by them. And then, you guessed it, the ultimate happened. One particular group flew over me casting an ominous shadow when suddenly something light, hit my back. My first response was that a tarantula had landed on me, but it did not take me long to figure out that I had been shit on by a seagull. I grew up in the south, and I know that a lady does not use the ‘s’ word, but I was shit on. There is no better way to put it. And then they laughed at me. As God as my witness the seagulls got the biggest kick out of it.
          I was so peeved I decided to quit and snapped this picture.
dsc_0147.jpg
           Then I went over and peed on one of Mother Nature’s beautiful yellow bushes. And it wasn’t easy.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Plein Air, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Gods Have Voted: Lisa Will Not Be a Landscape Painter

  1. 100swallows says:

    I think you misunderstood that seagull. He was sweet on you–he’d never seen a Southern belle and was asking you for a date–or earmarking you for a future affair.

  2. My husband is from Venice, Italy. They have lots and lots of pigeons there and often the pigeons annoint passerbys.
    Just so you’ll maybe feel a little tiny bit better, the Venetians say that when they get “shit” on that it is GOOD LUCK! Feel the luck???? :)
    Don’t give up plein air. As you said … it’s gorgeous outside. Oh by the way… If you can get out to Rancho Camulos tomorrow 4/1/08), they are having a great old plein air painting day for all comers. Lunch and snacks are provided (for $20). Come on out and bring your friends! Here is the link with the info on it:
    http://www.ranchocamulos.org/

    Maybe I’ll see you there.

  3. lbtowers says:

    Yes, 100swallows, I feel marked as seagull territory. Thanks for that.

    And Marion, thanks for the invite, I could not make it, but hope you did, and painted something fabulous! Sounds like fun.

  4. Rhonda says:

    I’ve heard the story about it being good luck, too – I don’t buy it! You were “shat upon,” and that would bother me, too, but why take it out on the little yellow flowers? You and Bill often give me the best laugh of the day!

  5. lbtowers says:

    I’m figuring the seagulls and the flowers are all Mother Nature’s children.

  6. Pingback: In The Nick of Time « On Painting

Leave a Reply

