Cotton Pickin’ Cotton

by Lisa

cotton.jpg
     

     About a year ago, a friend of mine, who is very much into decorating, mentioned that she was looking for some cotton pods like the ones above to fill a pot with. I got to thinking how much I would love to paint some in a still life, and I made a pact with her that whoever found it first would get enough for both of us. She lives in Atlanta, closer to cotton picking areas than me, but so far has not produced a single pod.

     Meanwhile, the day I ate at the City Cafe in Northport last week (see my last post), I was walking by a store, and there in the window was an entire display of cotton stalks. It was perfect. I glanced through the window, and could see a large bucket brimming over with them. With glee I rushed to the door only to find to my HUGE disappointment that it was locked and they were closed for the day. I was set to leave town early the next morning. My brother and I then made it our mission (well, I made it mine, and he was a captive audience and complained profusely throughout) to find cotton somewhere in that cotton pickin’ town by the end of the day.  We went to every decorator store, every antique store, and were even told where a possible field was where we could sneak in a pick some. NOTHING.

     Meanwhile, I have a demo to do tomorrow for my classes, and I really had my heart set on painting cotton. So I am going to settle for boring old persimmons. But I still want my cotton. If anyone out there knows where I can get some, I am willing to pay top dollar for it.

     By the way Bill, I’ll bet dried cotton would flame nicely too in case your pyromania  begins to itch again. Do you suppose our blog is under surveillance for your tumbleweed story? We once lit an old Christmas tree on fire in Miami, and that caused a real scramble for the lawn hose (bandaid on a bleeding artery) and a bit of a stir in the ol’ neighborhood as well.

This entry was posted in Still Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cotton Pickin’ Cotton

  1. 100swallows says:

    You guys are arsons!

  2. 100swallows says:

    Oops! ARSONISTS! Arson is the crime. Boy is my English hurting–serves me right.

  3. lbtowers says:

    I was about to sic the grammar police on you (is “sic” correct?). Anyway, no, I learned my lesson while scrambling for the lawn hose. By the way, we did do that outside. We were at least that smart.

  4. grfxho says:

    Last year I was invited to a “tree burning party” on a local farm. We were encouraged to bring our tree and throw it on the fire and drink and be merry.

    I’m allergic to pine, so we opted out. I didn’t think throwing our plastic tree on the fire would be a good idea, and I also like breathing. I’m silly that way.

  5. wrjones says:

    I’m all done burning stuff – except for the occasional pan of rice on the stove.

    Did you know that rice used to sink wooden sailing vessels? If sea water go into the cargo hold the rice would swell and split the ship open.

Leave a Reply

